Hazel Dell Lanes

champs Marshall Kent & Timothy Kelly

     Marshall Kent, Yakima WA, and Timothy Kelly, Vancouver WA, picked up victories in exciting JBT Pacific Northwest Conference action at Husted's Hazel Dell Lanes.

     Brandon Dunson opened up the scratch division stepladder finals with a 222-161 victory over Tyler Cruz.  Kent then took over, edging Dunson 211-206 in round two, and following with a 178-165 grindout against Lucas Stone, to advance to the title match.

    Top qualifier Jordan Plunkett took over the tournament lead with a 710 semifinal set, which was impressive on the PBA Scorpion condition, which really challenged the bowlers all day (a 180 average was good enough to make the scratch cut).  Kent seemed to lose the momentum he had been riding with early struggles in the title match, while Plunkett put together an opening triple.  However, the second half of the match was the opposite story, as Kent retook the lead in the ninth frame, and sealed the match with a tenth frame strike.  His 208-186 win was good for the third title of his JBT career.  It's his second win of the season, matching Jordan for the lead in that category, which will become all-important when Bowler of the Year time comes around later this season.

       The handicap division stepladder finals opened with a nail-biting first match, as Brandon Barry opened his last five frames, but the first five were good enough to hang on to a 216-212 win over Courtney Nikolas.  Brittany Arndt then dispatched Barry 237-207.  Kyle Jonas, a winner earlier this season at Acme, then beat Brittany 220-206 to reach the title match.

        Top qualifier Timothy Kelly is yet another living example of the JBT slogan "any age, any average".  The nine year-old, in his first year of bowling in the Hazel Dell youth league, held his own all day long against the bigger boys and girls, nabbing the top seed for the finals.  Sometimes newer bowlers succumb to the pressure of a JBT title match, but not Kelly, as he just missed rolling the high game of his LIFE in a 244-173 rout of Jonas for the victory.  Timothy (and all bowlers finishing in the top 5) now qualify for the JBT Pac NW Invitational, held next June with a $1,000 top scholarship prize per division.

    Thanks as always to the crew at Hazel Dell for a fine job hosting us.  Over $1,400 in scholarships were awarded to bowlers of all averages- want in on the fun?  Check the schedules and all the other information at www.bowljbt.com, and come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Hazel Dell Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners
Pacific Northwest Conference  
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Marshall Kent $200
2 Jordan Plunkett $145
3 Lucas Stone $60
4 Brandon Dunson $50
5 Tyler Cruz $50
6 Sarah Boe $30
7 Cameron Weier $125
8 Makayla Douglas  
9 Jeremy Witt  
10 Eddy Smith  
11 Josh Jackson $45
12 Schraeder White   
13 Nick Stone  
14 Tristan Curtis  
15 Eryk Jensen  
16 Perry Crowell IV  
17 Josh Baumgardner  
18 Thomas Nute  
19 Todd Hopfner  
20 Cody Pike  
21 Patrick Hickok  
22 Colton Munger  
23 Brandon Nylund  
24 Max Cooper  
25 Ryan Showalter  
26 Jared McNeal  
27 John Jordan   
28 Sam Burns  
29 Katie Beismann  
30 Cody Stone  
31 Natalie Decker  
32 Anthony Douglas $50
33 Josh Mullen  
34 Matt Lewis  
35 Tyler Porter  
36 Kevin Tindell  
37 Sam Parks  
38 Ryan Jamrog  
39 Luke Arronson  
40 Sam Clemens  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 Timothy Kelly $200
2 Kyle Jonas $100
3 Brittany Arndt $90
4 Brandon Barry $40
5 Courtney Nikolas $135
6 Ben Taylor  
7 Toby Shepherd $45
8 Evan Pendergraft $15
9 Robert Altieri  
10 Emily Benthusen  
11 Ryan Laird  
12 Nicole Stickler $15
13 Connor Gracia  
14 Ashton Coigny  
15 Kjerstin Richards  
16 Cory Camacho  
17 Luke Jordan  
18 Jacob Mullen  
19 Tyler Boe  
20 Bri Hemming  
21 Kelsey Abrahamsen  
22 Zach Hemming  
23 Ryan Nikolas    
24 Quinton Miller  $5
25 Kolby Crowell  
26 Linsey Leveque  
27 Katryn Comeau  
28 Craig Dodd  
Scratch High Games:  
  Kent 278  
  Dunson 269  
White 266  
Jackson 258  
Crowell 255  
Handicap High Games:  
Pendergraft 247  
Pendergraft 239  
Jonas 235  
Laird 233  
Arndt 232  
Round Leaders (5 pts. Each)  
Scratch Handicap
Boe Taylor
Crowell Taylor
L Stone Taylor
L Stone Taylor
L Stone Taylor
L Stone Taylor
Plunkett Kelly
Plunkett Kelly
High Female:  
Douglas +8  
Boe -2  
Nikolas -129  
Beismann -160  
Decker -163