Red Rock Lanes

champs Wesley Low & James Gabour

       Wesley Low made some JBT history, While James Gabour made some personal history of his own, with exciting wins in JBT Mojave Conference season-opening action at the amazing Red Rock Lanes.

        JBT rookie Jakob Butturff opened the scratch division of the stepladder finals with a 220-193 win over Spenser Lilley.  Zack Hattori then defeated Butturff 278-222.  Brandon Allred then beat Hattori 233-164, to advance to the title match. 

        Top seed Wesley Low, last season's Southern California handicap division Bowler of the Year, had no trouble with either the transition to scratch, or the challenging Tournament of Champions lane condition, rolling all 8 games over 200 to lead since game two.  The title match against the talented veteran Allred was a great one, though.  After Low finished with spare-strike in the tenth, Brandon needed a double in the tenth to win.  Allred's first shot came in light but struck, and his second was better, but a stubborn 10-pin stood, giving Low the 200-194 win, and the 4th title of his JBT career.  At just 13 years old, Wesley becomes one of the youngest scratch champions in JBT history.

        The handicap division finals opened with the always-interesting situation of a sibling rivalry, as younger brother KJ Martinez beat big sister Brooke Martinez 196-189.   KJ then beat Gabriella Weis 237-212.  Newcomer Jhared Gonzalez, who also won the day's Ebonite bowling ball, then beat KJ 236-202, to reach the title match.

        Top seed James Gabour had also been leading the event since game two, and this was the second straight season he opened the season as the top seed at Red Rock.  Unlike last year, this time he was able to finish the deal, defeating Gonzalez 229-203 for a long awaited first title of the JBT veteran's career.

        Thanks to the great crew at Red Rock for hosting our Tour again.  Over $1,300 in scholarships were awarded to bowlers of all ages and averages.  Want in on the fun?  Come on down to the next JBT event, it's that simple!

Red Rock Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners
Mojave Conference  
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Wesley Low $230
2 Brandon Allred $115
3 Zack hattori $110
4 Jakob Butturff $30
5 Spenser Lilley $30
6 Aaron Foshie  
7 Jordan Katz  
8 Dallas Leong $15
9 Gregg Kern  
10 DJ Sloan  
11 Dan Hansen $75
12 Eric Hatchett  
13 Rebeca Reguero $30
14 Ian Hanuscin  
15 Nick Lamek  
16 Riley Dempsey  
17 Ryan Howard  
18 Jordan Ferrer  
19 Donovan Koff  
20 Teddy Lucente  
21 Brad Hansen  
22 Tony Rose  
23 Jordan Ono  
24 Zach Martinez  
25 Jeremy Cardines  
26 Marina Stever  
27 Justin Givler  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 James Gabour $315
2 Jhared Gonzalez $105
3 KJ Martinez  $80
4 Gabriella Weis  $30
5 Brooke Martinez  $35
6 Nicholas Pollak  $15
7 Kennison Andrews  $75
8 Nicholas Vinyard  $30
9 Matthew Dragovich  $30
10 Randi Speiler  $15
11 Jack Parcell  
12 Taylor Ray  
13 Kyle Andrews  $15
14 Cortez Schenck  $20
15 Ricardo Mendoza  $20
16 Isaiah Cleveland  
17 Samantha Meyers  
18 Brittany Kolatzny  
19 Cerrell Cardines  
20 Justin Villa  
21 Tyler Ottenschot  
22 Vincent Nolan  
23 Aubrey Calabrese  
24 Dylan Lucas  
25 Brian Grupe  
26 David Galvan  
27 Kenny Herbster  
28 Noah Thompson  $15
29 Taylor King  
30 Autin Signoretti  
31 Aaron Watkins  
32 Gray Gubler  
Scratch High Games:  
  Allred 279  
  Hattori 278  
Allred 268  
Hattori 266  
Lilley 264  
Handicap High Games:  
Gabour 283  
KJ Martinez 277  
Pollak 276  
J Gonzalez 274  
T Ray 265  
Round Leaders (5 pts. Each)  
Scratch Handicap
Allred Schenck
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
Low Gabour
High Female:  
Reguero -30  
B Martinez -64  
Speiler -88  
Kolatzny -152  
Meyers -157