champs Derek Acuff & KJ Martinez

            Arizona- and, evidently, mohawks- invaded Albuquerque on Sunday, as Derek Acuff and KJ Martinez captured titles in NM-TX Conference action at Silva Lanes.

            Josh Helmick, a handicap star last year, broke through for his first scratch finals, but fell to Zach Martinez 195-178 in round one of the stepladder.  Riley Dempsey, the previous day's champion, then beat Zach 206-193.  Brian Burkett then ended Dempsey's shot at a doubleheader sweep with a 259-226 win to advance to his second straight title match, avenging his loss to Riley in yesterday's finale.

            Top seed Derek Acuff led since game two.  After a great year in handicap last year, he's made a smooth transition to scratch this season, making plenty of finals but unable to breakthrough in finals matches.  This one went down to the wire, and in the end it was frustration for Brian and jubilation for Derek, as Acuff's 226-224 win earned him his first scratch and fourth overall JBT title.

            KJ swept right up the handicap stepladder en route to victory.  He began with a 189-166 win over Stephanie Barela.  Martinez then beat Lindsey Ailport 189-169, and followed with a 238-167 win over Nick Sanchez to reach the final game.

            Top seed Audrey Campbell bowled extremely well all day, leading four rounds to grab the top seeded position.  However, KJ is an experienced veteran even at his age, and he avenged a heartbreaking title match loss last week with a confident 247-187 win over Audrey, good for his 3rd career JBT title, and continuing the Martinez dominance of the weekend, with Zach and sister Brooke all making finals, and unrelated Linzi winning the day before!

            Thanks as always to Silva for being great hosts of our Tour.  A big turnout helped us award over $2,000 in scholarships- plenty of tournaments are left, so keep spreading the word to bowlers of all ages and averages that JBT is for them, too!

Silva Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners
NM-TX Conference  
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Derek Acuff $225
2 Brian Burkett $125
3 Riley Dempsey $105
4 Zach Martinez $135
5 Josh Helmick $40
6 Tim Crites $45
7 Jacob Gill $20
8 Paul Carper $30
9 Chris Brown $25
10 Andrew Esparza  
11 Kevin Ives $15
12 Danny Cobine  
13 Alex Yoder  
14 Cody Mansfield $105
15 Jacob Wright  
16 Gregg Kern  
17 Joe Lewandowski  
18 Bailey McFarland  
19 Labriel Leach $15
20 Amber Robinson  
21 Michael Conway  
22 Sara Vargas  
23 Tim Baribeau  
24 Ahkeen Williams  
25 Nick Lee $15
26 William Yoder  
27 Ryan Fast  
28 Seth Jaramillo  
29 Ryan Scheer $15
30 Janeyl Carper $5
31 Billy Read  
32 Danny Crites  
33 William Entsminger  
34 Tommy Crites  
35 Sabrina Vargas  
36 Matt Grandinetti  
37 Kyle Madrid  
38 John King  
39 Roger Johnson  
40 Marcos Armijo  
41 Marcus Ortiz  
42 Andrew Muro  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 KJ Martinez $255
2 Audrey Campbell $125
3 Nick Sanchez $75
4 Lindsey Ailport $50
5 Stephanie Barela $40
6 Cortez Schenck $30
7 Josh Demick $50
8 Jaedyn Fuqua  
9 Kelly McNeil  
10 Katie McNeil  
11 Martin Montoya  
12 Brooke Martinez $90
13 Cerra Strickland $15
14 Kayla Goad  
15 Samantha Meyers $135
16 Amber Eddington $15
17 Aurora Popple  
18 Klarice Medina  
19 Jonah Seawright  
20 Lacey Shelton  
21 Johnny Pacheco  
22 Dale Coffee  
23 Zachary Wojciechowski  
24 Brittany Leiby  
25 Christian Hererra  
26 Brandyn MacPhee  
27 Dillon Farfan  
28 Shawna Bellman  
29 Fernando Delarosa  
30 Sophie Diaz  
31 Jacob Helmick  
32 Micayla Scheer  
33 Steven Acuff  
34 Nicole Gallegos  
35 Jerimiah Cruz $5
36 Robert Sample  
37 Allison May  
38 Joey Balistreri  
39 Tylor MacPhee  
40 Robbie Garcia  
41 Ben Stedman  
42 Matt Vargas  
Scratch High Games:  
  D Acuff 289  
  Lewandowski 276  
Dempsey 254  
Martinez 249  
Martinez 246  
Handicap High Games:  
S Barela 278  
Ailport 274  
Campbell 261  
Sanchez 261  
Goad 259  
Round Leaders (5 pts. Each)  
Scratch Handicap
J Gill Campbell
D Acuff Ailport
D Acuff Ailport
D Acuff Ailport
D Acuff Campbell
D Acuff Campbell
D Acuff Campbell
D Acuff Campbell
High Female:  
Ailport +118  
Goad -25  
McFarland -63  
B Martinez -89  
Robinson -94