Gold Coast

champs Danny Varholdt & Savannah Carr

        Arizona bowlers Danny Varholdt and Savannah Carr earned landmark victories in exciting JBT Mojave Conference action at LAs Vegas' Gold Coast Bowling Center.

        All-Conference points leader Cameron Smith began the scratch division stepladder finals with a 231-219  win over Mark Curtis.  Smith then rolled past current All-Conference Bowler of the Year Riley Dempsey 253-208.  Varholdt, a former handicap division Bowler of the Year, then stopped Smith 237-165 to reach his first scratch division finals. 

        Top seed Dallas Leong led a high-scoring field after eight games to grab the number one seed, but could not keep up the pace of strikes Varholdt was setting.  Danny finished off his career day with a 246-227 win, good for his first career scratch title, and third of his JBT career.

        Carr was unstoppable in the handicap division finals.  She began her climb with a 261-234 win over an impressive rookie, Jessica Kellogg.   Savannah was nearly as good in round two, winning 257-216 over Aaron Watkins.  The semifinal match was much closer, but she got past James Gabour 220-212 to reach the title game.

        Top seed Donovan Koff, at just 12 years old, fired a big 278 scratch game to take over the lead heading into the stepladder, and kept it close against Carr, but Savannah was just not to be denied, as the veteran won the match 236-227 to claim the second title of here JBT career, both coming at Gold Coast, two years apart.

        Savannah wrapped up her dream day with a 231-214 win over Randi Speiler to capture the day's Women's Series title, the first of three she needs to qualify for the 2012 Girls TPC this summer in Vegas.

        Thanks as always to teh terrific crew at Gold Coast for hosting our event.  Over $1,300 in scholarships were awarded to bowlers of all averages age 21 & under- want in on the fun?  Just check out our schedule and come on down, it's as simple as that!

Gold Coast- final results and optional scholarship winners
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Danny Varholdt $200
2 Dallas Leong $160
3 Cameron Smith $60
4 Riley Dempsey $45
5 Mark Curtis $20
6 Derek Acuff  
7 Kyle Karpovich $15
8 Eric Hatchett  
9 Oscar Chan  
10 Zack Hattori $45
11 Cortez Schecnk  
12 Jakob Butturff  
13 Jordan Ferrer  
14 Mark Myers  
15 Mark Caparas  
16 Joe Lewandowski  
17 Marina Stever  
18 Derek Iozzio  
19 Ryan Warshefski  
20 Nick Pollak  
21 Courtney Schultz  
22 Dan Hansen  
23 Douglas Csanyi  
24 Michael Ma  
25 Jason Pappas  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 Savannah Carr $245
2 Donovan Koff $100
3 James Gabour $80
4 Aaron Watkins $65
5 Jessica Kellogg $30
5 Randi Speiler $65
7 Ricardo Mendoza  
8 Jeremy Cardines  
9 Jake Bryan  
10 Skyler Moss  
11 Steven Acuff  
12 Matt Dragovich $30
13 Tyler Ottenschot  
14 Justin Villa $30
15 David Galvan  
16 Talon Hendrickson $60
17 Brooke Martinez  
18 Alexis Atkin  
19 KJ Martinez  
20 Shauna Schultz $10
21 Danyella Gonzalez  
22 Gabriella Weis  
23 Jake Smith  
24 Jake Heaton  
25 Crystalene Pineda  
26 Cerell Cardines  
27 Dylan Bock   
28 Laurren Takahata  
29 Megan Carlson  
30 Kylie Shishima  
31 Kyli Selley  
32 Veronica Schleicher  
33 Madison Crockett  
34 Collin Deppe  
35 Joe Gerencser $5
Scratch High Games  
Iozzio 289  
C Smith 288  
Leong 279  
Hatchett 276  
Curtis 268  
Handicap High Games
Koff 303  
Speiler 282  
gabour 278  
J Cardines 277  
Bryan, Speiler 276  
Round Leaders  
Scratch Handicap
Iozzio Carr
Schenck J Cardines
Curtis Koff
Curtis Carr
Curtis Speieler
Leong Speieler
Varholdt Gabour
Leong Koff
Women's Series   
Speiler +89  
  Carr +70*  
Stever +33  
C Schultz 0  
B Martinez -62