champs Derek Acuff & Kyle Punzalan

    Derek Acuff made JBT history with the first 300 game in the title match in nearly eleven years, while Kyle Punzalan hung on to win his first title, in exciting JBT So Cal Conference action at San Diego's Mira Mesa Bowl.

    Peter Rantins opened up the handicap stepladder finals with a 220-199 win over fellow first-time finalist Eric Ruger.  Leah Zweig then defeated Rantins 200-187.  Punzalan, who is Rantins' brother, then avenged the family with a 210-190 win over Zweig to advance to the title game.

    Top seed Kennison Andrews destroyed the pins mid-tournament to build up a solid lead which he held on to the rest of the day, but he struggled in the first half of the title game, giving Puzalan a big early lead.  Kyle returned the favor in the second half though, opening in four of the last five frames to give Andrews a chance to double for the win.  When Kennison was unable to get the first strike, a relieved Punzalan claimed the 198-191 win and the first title of his JBT career.

     13 year-old Cortez Schenck opened up the scratch division stepladder finals with a 237-228 win over previous day's champion Ronnie Fujita.  Harley Sweigart, who made the switch from handicap to scratch, proved that was a good choice with a 225-202 win over Schenck in round two.  Harley then snuck by Curtis Lindeman 231-221 in a well bowled semifinal to reach the title match.

     Top seed Derek Acuff had taken the lead away from Lindeman with a big semifinal set, but figured to have his hands full against fellow lefty Sweigart, who was bowling in his home house.  However, Derek left no room for doubt as he pured the first nine strikes to win the title, despite a fine 225 from Harley.  Now three away from tying one of our oldest and most coveted records, his shots weren't quite as perfect, but he got them all to fall, and Derek joined Matt Jones, who in April 2001 rolled the only other 300 game in a JBT title match- what a way fro Acuff to win his 9th career JBT title!  

    Brittany Kolatzny defeated Marina Stever 192-138 to win the day's Impact Bowling JBT Women's Series event, the second of three wins she needs to qualify for the Girls TPC this July.

    Thanks as always to the crew at Mira Mesa for hosting our events.  Over $1,700 in scholarships were earned by bowlers of all ages and averages- want in on the fun?  Come on down to the next JBT event, it's that simple!

Mira Mesa Bowl- final results and optional scholarship winners
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Derek Acuff $230
2 Harley Sweigart $165
3 Curtis Lindeman $60
4 Cortez Schenck $60
5 Ronnie Fujita $40
6 Riley Dempsey $30
7 Oscar Chan $35
8 Mark Curtis  
9 Courtney Brown  
10 Bobby Hornacek  
11 Steven Manier  
12 Kyle Duster  
13 Brittany Kolatzny  
14 Mark Myers  
15 Vinny Bravo $15
16 Kirk Chui  
17 Raheem Johnson  
18 Mark Idzerda  
19 Marina Stever $30
20 Kyle Karpovich $55
21 Wesley Low $60
22 Brett Hirsch  
23 Mark Hugelmaier  
24 Foster Phandanouvong $30
25 Eric Hatchett  
26 Cameron Smith  
27 Chris Tucker $15
28 Darwin Eusebio  
29 Bryan Rondeau  
30 Jordan Ferrer  
31 Karlie Loop  
32 Michael Ma  
33 Matt Zweig  
34 Dan Hansen  
35 Justin Sims  
36 Luke Holley  
37 Ashley Dunn  
38 Shane Peck  
39 Renee Gentry  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 Kyle Punzalan $200
2 Kennison Andrews $250
3 Leah Zweig $60
4 Peter Rantins $50
5 Eric Ruger $40
6 Tyler Wolff $30
7 Austin Thompson $20
8 Jake Bryan  
9 Matthew Green  
10 Kyle Andrews $30
11 Randi Speiler  
12 Austin Hopkins  
13 Glenn Alan Teal $30
14 Jericho Eusebio $15
15 Trenton Romleski $15
16 Brooke Martinez $120
17 James McGough  
18 Steven Kampley $15
19 KJ Martinez $30
20 Max Carter   
21 Nick Daniels  
22 Alexis Atkin  
23 Rance Dvorak  
24 Carol Chui  
25 Niick Condon  
26 Marguerite Evans  
27 Kylie Selley   
28 Emily Margetta  
29 Megan Carlson  
30 Jenny Phandanouvon  
31 Justin Patten  
32 Eric Torrence  
33 Savannah Carr  
34 Trevor Thompson  
35 Kylie Shishima $15
36 Steven Acuff  
37 Kyle DeCew  
38 Jacey Opiana  
39 Eric Demo  
40 Alyssa Tucker  
41 Shauna Schultz  
Scratch High Games  
Acuff 300  
Fujita 280  
Lindeman 279  
Karpovich 279  
Lindeman 268  
Handicap High Games  
Punzalan 304  
Ken Andrews 289  
A Thompson 285  
Wolff 278  
Ken Andrews 278  
Round Leaders  
Scratch Handicap
Myers Zweig
Fujita A Thompson
Kolatzny A Thompson
Acuff Ken Andrews
Lindeman Ken Andrews
Lindeman Ken Andrews
Lindeman Ken Andrews
Acuff Ken Andrews
Women's Series   
Stever +125  
  Kolatzny +110*