champs Cameron Smith & Taylor Simpson

        Cameron Smith rolled on, while Taylor Simpson got instant revenge from a loss last week, to win titles in exciting JBT Mojave Conference action at Sam's Town Bowling Center.

        Nick Pollak dominated the scratch division of the qualifying round, throwing an exciting 299 game and leading after all five games.  However, the survivor format can be deadly to runaway leaders, and it claimed another victim as Nick was unable to keep up the momentum in the survivor rounds.  Eventually 20 scratch survivors were carved down to four, and in those semifinal matches Cameron Smith defeated Ian Hanuscin and Zack Hattori ousted Mark Myers to set up a title match clash between two of our most successful veterans.

       The title game turned into a carry contest on the Kegel 'middle road' pattern, and this time it was Smith with the edge, firing 11 strikes in a 279-239 win over 11-time winner Hattori (who amazingly, still hasn't won a regular season Mojave event since the 09-10 season).  It's the 33rd title of Smith's career, creeping up towards #3 BJ Baker on our all-time list at 36.

        Jason Pappas led the handicap division qualifying round, but also couldn't survive deep into the matchplay rounds.  24 survivors were whittled down to four, and in those semifinal matches, New Mexico's Taylor Simpson beat David Galvan, while Pamela Wright stopped Shelby Dempsey to set up the all-female title match.

        Simpson lost the title match last Sunday in Albuquerque, and must have told her family she was ready for revenge immediately, as they made the long trek to Vegas, while Kingman's Wright was appearing in her first title game.  Simpson didn't let last week's result repeat, as this time she won the game 201-179 to earn the first title of her JBT career.

        Jory Koizumi earned her fourth Impact Bowling JBT Women's Series title of the season with a 202-170 win over Kayla Goad.  Jory retains the overall women's points lead heading into the home stretch of the season.

        Thanks as always to the crew at Sam's Town for hosting our events.  Over $1,800 in scholarships were earned by bowlers of all averages, age 21 and under.  Want in on the fun?  Check out our schedule and come on down to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Sam's Town- final results and optional scholarship winners
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Cameron Smith $210
2 Zack Hattori $115
3 Mark Myers $85
4 Ian Hanuscin $70
5 Riley Dempsey $125
6 Matt Brazeal $40
7 Jordan Ono $30
8 Aaron Yamamoto  
9 Oscar Chan  
10 Nick Pollak  
11 Jakob Butturff  
12 Jory Koizumi  
13 Chase Nadeau  
14 Danny Varholdt $30
15 Dallas Leong $15
16 Cortez Schenck $40
17 Mark Curtis  
18 Dan Hansen  
19 Curtis Lindeman  
20 Jordan Ferrer  
21 Mark Caparas  
22 Eric Hatchett  
23 Teddy Lucente  
24 Brian Grupe  
25 Aaron Foshie  
26 Joe Lewandowski  
27 Kayla Goad  
28 Shane Valleau  
29 Courtney Schultz  
30 Holden Luke  
31 Derek Acuff  
32 Dayton Martin  
33 Andrew Valdez  
34 Marina Stever  
35 Ryan Campbell  
36 Jonny Gutierrez  
37 Garrett Page  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 Taylor Simpson $270
2 Pamela Wright $125
3 Shelby Dempsey $100
4 David Galvan $75
5 Steven Acuff $50
5 Austin Thompson $40
7 Eric Ruger $30
8 Shauna Schultz $50
9 Jeremy Cardines  
10 Cerrell Cardines  
11 Leah Glazer $15
12 Matt Dragovich $15
13 Jason Pappas  
14 TJ Rock  
15 Michael Hildebrand  
16 Parker Simpson $60
17 Nick Condon $35
18 Justin Villa  
19 Gerilynn Delagarito  
20 Jake Bryan  
21 Clint Strawmyer  
22 Crystalene Pineda  
23 Savannah Carr  
24 Jake Smith   
25 Ricky Swindling  
26 Marguerite Evans  
27 Megan Carlson $45
28 Aaron Watkins $15
29 Brooke Martinez $60
30 Brendan Lindsey $15
31 Gabriella Weis  
32 KJ Martinez $30
33 Trevor Thompson $30
34 Alexis Atkin  
35 Andie Szekely  
36 Joe Gerenscer  
37 Kyler Duggins  
38 James Gabour  
39 Danyella Gonzalez  
40 Justin Patten  
41 Jhared Gonzalez  
42 Kevin Finkler  
43 Randi Speiler $5
44 Joe Cencelewski  
45 Mike Garcia  
46 Taylor Ray  
Scratch High Games  
Pollak 299  
Lindeman 279  
Smith 279  
Hatchett 275  
Curtis, Chan 269  
Handicap High Games
A Thompson 279  
P Wright 272  
Pappas 268  
S Dempsey 267  
Rock 266  
Round Leaders  
Scratch Handicap
Pollak Rock
Pollak Rock
Pollak Pappas
Pollak Pappas
Pollak Pappas
Women's Series   
Koizumi +1  
  Goad -81  
S Dempsey -86  
C Schultz -98  
Glazer -101