champs Eric Hatchett & Matt Dragovich

         Two bowlers ended long victory droughts with big wins in JBT Mojave Conference action at Sam's Town Bowling Center.

          In our dramatic 'march madness' format, bowlers were seeded for the 16-person matchplay based on their all-conference points standings, theoretically saving matches pitting our top stars against each other for the late rounds.  Down to the final four, Oscar Chan, a Californian who won the overnighter in Vegas last month, beat 'Mr. Meme' Curtis Lindeman 212-189.  In the other semi, Hatchett beat defending all-conference Bowler of the Year Riley Dempsey 215-171, setting up the final game.

        Both players bowled very well on the challenging 2012 USBC Open pattern in the title game, but in the end it was Eric who came up with the 237-216 win, earning his fifth career JBT title and ending a winless drought since his last handicap title in September 2008.

        In the handicap division's final four, Dragovich easily got by Nathan Hanuscin- Nathan had escaped in a tiebreaker against his friend Austin Signoretti in the previous round- while New Mexico's Gerilynn Delagarito squeezed by Californian Marguerite Evans 213-209 to set up the title match.

        Seven year-old Delagarito won her first title in Albuquerque in February, and has knocked on the door of a second win a few times since.  However, Dragovich finished off the best day of his JBT career with the win over Gerilynn (although he encouraged her the whole time in a display of sportsmanship that definitely didn't go unnoticed) for the first title of his JBT career.  

        Courtney Schultz earned her second Impact Bowling JBT Women's Series title of the season with a 198-152 win over Marina Stever.  Courtney needs one more win to qualify for the JBT Girls TPC this July.

        Thanks as always to the crew at Sam's Town for hosting our events.  Over $1,800 in scholarships were earned by bowlers of all averages, age 21 and under.  Want in on the fun?  Check out our schedule and come on down to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Sam's Town- final results and optional scholarship winners
Scratch Division  
rank name prize
1 Eric Hatchett $200
2 Oscar Chan $100
3 Riley Dempsey $60
4 Curtis Lindeman $50
5 Cortez Schenck $80
6 Jakob Butturff $30
7 Shane Valleau  
8 Mark Curtis  
9 Zack Hattori $75
10 Jordan Ferrer  
11 Dallas Leong $15
12 Joe Lewandowski $90
13 Chase Nadeau  
14 Aaron Foshie $15
15 Aaron Yamamoto  
16 Mark Myers  
17 Danny Varholdt  
18 Cameron Smith $15
19 Marina Stever  
20 Kayla Goad  
21 Holden Luke  
22 Courtney Schultz  
23 Joseph Mortero  
24 Dan Hansen  
25 Teddy Lucente  
26 Mark Caparas  
27 Jory Koizumi  
28 Ian Hanuscin  
29 Matt Brazeal  
30 Brian Grupe  
31 Nick Pollak  
32 Derek Acuff  
33 Andrew Valdez  
Handicap Division  
rank name prize
1 Matt Dragovich $225
2 Gerilynn Delagarito $140
3 Marguerite Evans $145
4 Nathan Hanuscin $75
5 Kevin Finkler $50
6 Gabriella Weis $40
7 Austin Signoretti $30
8 Nick Condon $35
9 Brandon Duffy  
10 Shauna Schultz $60
11 Andrew Guba  
12 Clint Strawmyer  
13 Jake Bryan  
14 Joe Gerenscer  
15 Jason Pappas  
16 David Galvan  
17 Aaron Watkins $45
18 Alexis Atkin  
19 Cerell Cardines  
20 Brendan Lindsey  
21 Shelby Dempsey  
22 Dustin Linde  
23 Megan Carlson $60
24 Ricky Swindling   
25 Jeremy Cardines  
26 Leah Glazer  
27 Justin Villa  
28 Savannah Carr $15
29 TJ Rock  
30 Parker Simpson  
31 Trevor Thompson  
32 Jonny Gutierrez  
33 KJ Martinez $15
34 Andie Szekely  
35 Pamela Wright  
36 Eric Ruger  
37 Kevin Mette  
38 Josh Liebowitz  
39 Taylor Simpson $5
40 Austin Thompson  
41 Kyler Duggins  
42 Randi Speiler  
43 Joe Cencelewski  
44 Steven Acuff  
45 Crystalene Pineda  
46 Brooke Martinez  
47 Jake Smith  
Scratch High Games  
Dempsey 277  
M Curtis 270  
Dempsey 269  
Hatchett 268  
Lindeman 249  
Handicap High Games
Duffy 275  
Finkler 267  
Delagarito 255  
Dragovich 252  
Dragovich 249  
Round Leaders  
Scratch Handicap
Leong J Bryan
Leong Delagarito
Leong Duffy
Leong Delagarito
Hattori Duffy
Women's Series   
Stever -89  
  Goad -99  
C Schultz -103*  
Koizumi -146  
Atkin -159