champs Anthony Douglas & Aldrin Oriza

        Anthony Douglas and Aldrin Oriza took two decidedly different routes to victory in exciting JBT Pacific Northwest Conference action at beautiful Beaverton's Sunset Lanes.

        The WTBA 'Atlanta' lane condition proved to be a very tough challenge for the bowlers, as a 175 average was enough to make it to the semifinals.  Douglas already had his equipment in the car before he heard the cut number announced, and given a second chance he swept his matchplay opponents to sneak into the number 5 spot for the finals.  He then began a climb up the ladder with a 190-160 win over Darren Stanley.  Anthony then got by Tanner Spacey 209-178 in a match filled with Bowler of the Year implications.  Douglas then beat John Jordan 226-179 to reach the title match.

        Top seed Curtis Lindeman, a former Washington resident now living in Arizona, completed the incredible task of qualifying for all five Invitationals this season by totally dominating the tournament here.  Unfortunately for him, he struggled in the title match, and Douglas took full advantage, winning the game 194-169 to capture not only the fourth title of his JBT career, but the points lead with five events to go.

        Kelsey Abrahamsen, who would take over the handicap points lead by the end of the weekend, opened the handicap division stepladder finals with a 231-200 win over Connor Gracia.  Kelsey then snuck past Hannah Abney 213-208, before a struggle of a semifinal with Samm Cosby, which ended in a 187 tie. Cosby won the rolloff 25-21 to advance to the title match.

        In contrast with Douglas, top seed Aldrin Oriza led the event from wire to wire, but Samm was making her third straight top 5 appearance to match that momentum.  Thus, something had to give, and I\in the end, Oriza finished strongly, pulling away for a 266-219 win, and the first title of his JBT career.

        Breanne Mattson defeated Correen Lieber 208-173 to capture the day's Impact Bowling Women's Series title.  She needs two more wins to qualify for the 2012 Girls TPC held this July.

        Thanks to the whole crew at Sunset for a great job hosting our Tour.  Over $1,400 in scholarships were awarded to bowlers of all averages and ages.  There's still time to get in on the fun this season- check out our schedule, and come on down, it's as simple as that!

Sunset Lanes- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler


1 Anthony Douglas $215
2 Curtis Lindeman $100
3 John Jordan $85
4 Tanner Spacey $50
5 Darren Stanley $60
6 Tyler Stickler $20
7 Josh Mullen  
8 Andrew Heritage  
9 Jeremy Witt $15
10 Nick Bachteler  
11 Jesse Covington  
12 Patrick Hickok  
13 Connor Jackley  
14 Cortez Schenck $60
15 Michael Paulson  
16 Alex Earle  
17 Thomas Nute $15
18 Zach Hemming $5
19 Correen Lieber  
20 Tristan Curtis $15
21 Jeffrey Holden $45
22 Quinton Miller $10
23 Breanne Mattson  
24 Vince Bachteler  
25 Ryan Nikolas $100
26 Tanner Bouwens  
27 Tyler Boe  
28 Marina Stever $15
29 Joey Huffman  
30 Evan Pendergraft  
31 Courtney Nikolas  
32 Travis Smart  
33 Kyler Crevier  
34 Tyler Satter  
  Handicap Division  
1 Aldrin Oriza $200
2 Samm Cosby $100
3 Kelsey Abrahamsen $85
4 Hannah Abney $100
5 Connor Gracia $30
6 Sebastian Polhill $20
7 Tommie McNeal  
8 Molly Camosso  
9 Becky Davidson  
10 Bri Hemming $45
11 Kimmie Satter  
12 Max Polhill  
13 Ally Paolo  
14 Latoya Rogers  
15 Tessa Friason  
16 Aarika Paolo  
17 Jake Mullen  
18 Zane Hays   
19 Brandon Drake  
20 Melanie Miles  
21 Matthew Yaw  
22 Jamilah Ousley $10
23 Michelle Jensen  
24 David Scott  
25 Kara Lieber  
26 Nick Bruketta  
27 Luke Jordan  
28 Kjerstin Richards  
29 Jonathan Oriza  
30 Alexa Lanning $5
31 Kyle Hays  
32 Kevin Obrist  
33 Brandon Myers  
34 Kelley Moody  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Jordan 255 Oriza 266
2 Jordan 246 Gacia 251
3 Spacey 235 Aarika Paolo 243
4 Stanley 234 Miles 243
5 Mullen 234 Cosby, Oriza 241
  High Female  
1 Lieber -121  
2 Mattson -135*  
3 Stever -168  
4 Nikolas -176  
5 Abrahamsen -181  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Mullen Oriza
2 Lindeman Oriza
3 Mullen Oriza
4 Lindeman Oriza
5 Lindeman Oriza
6 Lindeman Oriza
7 Lindeman Oriza
8 Lindeman Oriza