champs Alex Watanabe & Donius Jeffries II

        Alex Watanabe and Donius Jeffries II each earned their first JBT singles titles in exciting NM-TX Conference action at Albuquerque's Isleta Fun Connection.

        Bowlers competed in the always exciting 'super survivor' format, where the lowest game and the lowest totals are eliminated round by round until only the winner survives.  The scratch division was eventually squeezed down to three bowlers, and in that penultimate round Josh Helmick rolled 234 and Watanabe fired 238 to eliminate Cortez Schenck (156) and advance to the final game.

        The title match was a grind-out, not uncommon on the day's difficult lane pattern, one of the toughest of the season.  Alex appeared to have the match locked up with a tenth frame spare, but a 6-count on the fill ball gave Helmick an unexpected second chance.  Now needing all three to win, Helmick carried through the nose on his first ball, went brooklyn on his second ball, but another high hit on the final ball (after a brave ball change) only got an 8-count, leaving him on the short end of a 180-179 thriller.  It's Watanabe's first career JBT singles title to go along with a doubles win earlier this season.

        Eighteen handicap survivors were also eventually carved down to three, and in that game Jeffries' 235 was plenty good, and Trevor Hicks' 209 was good enough for second, while Nathan Tran (171) was eliminated in third.  In the resulting title game, Donius stayed in control the entire time, and his 208-165 win was good for the first title of his JBT career.

        Alyssa Williams' debut in the JBT Women's Series title match was an auspicious one, as she blasted a 255 game for a win over Adel Wahner for the first girls' title of her career.

        Thanks as always to the great team at Isleta for hosting our Tour.  Want in on all the excitement?  Just check out our schedule and come on down, that's all you have to do!

Isleta Fun Connection- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Alex Watanabe $215
2 Josh Helmick $129
3 Cortez Schenck $79
4 Jacob Gill $40
5 Angel Ortega $20
6 Armando Ortega  
7 Zach Harvey  
8 Danny Cobine  
9 Curtis Lindeman  
10 Ben Stedman  
11 Joey Balistreri  
12 Adel Wahner  
13 John Ellis  
14 Ahkeen Williams  
15 Zach Wojciechowski  
16 William Yoder  
17 Mark Vigil  
18 Josh Demick  
19 Brad Harvey  
20 Carson Opela  
21 Matthew Tran  
22 Iszian Zuni  
23 Bree Vargas  
24 Christian Apolonio  
25 Trey Sledge  
  Handicap Division  
1 Donius Jeffries II $270
2 Trevor Hicks $155
3 Nathan Tran $75
4 Justin Hackney $90
5 3lizab3th Rom3ro $80
6 Aarin Jeffries $40
7 James Jeffries $60
8 Alyssa Williams $15
9 Harlee Wilson  
10 Montana Cdebaca $10
11 Toby Cdebaca  
12 Lacey Shelton  
13 Quirino Sanchez $55
14 Nathaniel Duran $15
15 Jacob Lucero  
16 Jake Helmick  
17 Josiah Ficklin  
18 Andrea Griego  
19 Rob McClelon $15
20 Jay Heffer  
21 Lindsey Sanchez  
22 Gerilynn Delegarito $5
23 Jacob Marquis  
24 Nick Sanchez  
25 Destiny Johnosn  
26 Isaac Duran  
27 Vanessa Romero  
28 Zack Long  
29 Jamie Hughes  
30 Aileen Linares  
31 Noah Martinez  
32 Katie McNeil  
33 Jonah Seawright  
34 Nathan Nguyen  
35 Kolton Carpenter  
36 James Fine  
37 Abigail Marquis  
38 Christina Ward  
39 Dale Case  
40 Jeremiah McClelon  
  Women's Series  
1 Williams -146  
2 Wahner -161  
3 E Romero -174  
4 Cdebaca -192  
5 V Romero -194  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Watanabe 256 Hicks 287
2 Helmick 248 Helmick 283
3 A Ortega 246 Williams 257
4 Schenck 237 J Jeffries 249
5 Helmick 233 Tran 248
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Schenck Q Sanchez
2 Schenck J Jeffries
3 Schenck Hicks
4 Schenck Hicks
5 Watanabe Tran