champs Harley Sweigart & Jarred Starr Moncayo w/ runners-up Tyler Hedges & Daryus Alo

            Harley Sweigart and Jarred Starr-Moncayo racked up another title on their respective resumes in exciting JBT Southern California Conference action at Chula Vista's BRC Premier Lanes.

            Eight scratch division survivors competed in low-bowler out matches after qualifying, and each round produced tenth frame do-or-die moments.  Wesley Low commanded the qualifying round to earn the top seed, and he eventually made his way to the final four.  However, in that round, Sweigart, who had had already struck in the tenth to survive an earlier round, did it again to shut out Low in a 257-236 thriller.  The other semifinal came down to the tenth as well, and there Ricardo Mendoza got the mark he needed for a 212-208 win over Ben Canfield to advance and face Sweigart for the title.

            Harley remained in control the entire title game, eventually winning 191-157 for the fifth title of his JBT career, and second consecutive personally, having won at Canyon in February.  The runner-up finish matches Mendoza's career high.

            Eighteen handicap survivors were eventually carved down to six, and in those matches, Starr-Moncayo stopped Brian King 239-215, 9 year-old Tyler Hedges beat newcomer Tim Hill 188-178, and 8 year-old Daryus Alo used a 231 scratch game to stop another rookie, Nathan Sinclair, 278-202. 

            This set up a three-way final match for all the marbles.  Alo was unable to keep the pace from his last game, finishing at 197.  Hedges rolled a solid game of 228, forcing Jarred to double in the tenth for the win.  Starr-Moncayo, who had also led all five qualifying games, kept up the brilliant performance by getting the double, finishing at 232 and earning the sixth title of his JBT career with the exciting victory.

            It was Randi Speiler and Ashley Dunn facing off in yet another girls' title match, and this time top seed Dunn prevailed with a 203-181 win, her tenth Women's Series victory of the season.

            Thanks to the crew at Premier for hosting our event- want in on the fun?  Just check out our schedule and come on down! 

BRC Premier- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Harley Sweigart $200
2 Ricardo Mendoza $100
3 Wesley Low $120
4 Ben Canfield $40
5 Cortez Schenck $30
6 Ashley Dunn  
7 Esteban Becera  
8 Austin Thompson  
9 Kennison Andrews  
10 Randi Speiler  
11 Greg Adler  
12 Anthony Schanen $10
13 Kirk Chui  
14 Kyle Andrews  
15 Brandon Wanders  
16 Saul Ulloa  
17 Brandon Millan Garcia  
  Handicap Division  
1 Jarred Starr-Moncayo $244
2 Tyler Hedges $115
3 Daryus Alo $70
4 Tim Hill $60
5 Brian King $50
6 Nathan Sinclair $40
7 Ryan Langenhorst  
8 Paulina Egana  
9 Kyle Reed  
10 Gael Egana  
11 Zack Long $15
12 Marguerite Evans $30
13 Michael Abramowitz  
14 Caleb Rothstein  
15 Michaela Buhain  
16 Brandon Lim $15
17 Jacob Murray  
18 Joshua Abigania $15
19 Ian Versaggi  
20 Ryland Pimentel  
21 Trevor Thompson  
22 Renee Gentry $15
23 Dustin Yauney  
24 Secilia Kalvelage  
25 James McGough  
26 Kyle Gilbert $15
27 Brandon Loss  
28 Maikayla Villa  
29 Jose Luis Morales   
30 Ryan Galland  
31 Matt Carpenter $44
32 Dante Villa  
33 Matthew Green  
34 Ashley Wilcox  
35 Dawson Reese  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Canfield 277 Starr-Moncayo 292
2 Low 268 Alo 278
3 Mendoza 259 G Egana 274
4 Schenck 259 Langenhorst 264
5 Low 258 Long 260
  High Female  
1 Dunn -46*  
2 Speiler -87  
3 Gentry -117  
4 Buhain -138  
5 Evans -144  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Canfield Starr-Moncayo
2 Canfield Starr-Moncayo
3 Low Starr-Moncayo
4 Low Starr-Moncayo
5 Low Starr-Moncayo
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,228