champs Russ Oviatt & Amelia LaFace with girls' champ Rachael Berg

        Russ Oviatt and Amelia LaFace captured JBT titles in exciting Arizona Conference action at Flagstaff's Starlite Lanes.

        Nick Devlin was trying to win back-to-back titles to start the season, and began a run up the scratch stepladder with a 248-238 win over Matt Zweig.  Another ASU teammate, Harley Sweigart, was then able to stop Devlin's run with a big 274-166 win.  The Sun Devil turnstile then continued with Russ Oviatt beating Sweigart 221-201 to advance to the title match.

        Paul Colyer just made the switch to scratch the day before, and showed he belonged in a big way by leading all those ASU bowlers and grabbing the top seed.  However, Russ was determined to catch his buddy Nick in titles, since Devlin won the day before at Cliff Castle.  In the end, Oviatt did just that, closing out Colyer 212-183, becoming just the 38th bowler in JBT history to reach the 10-title landmark.

       10 year-old Tyler Hedges kept up the great bowling he did last season as a 9 year-old, winning the first match of the handicap division stepladder 210-168 over Abby Franklin, also a JBT All-Star last season.  The next match against AZ all-star Jarred Starr-Moncayo came down to the last frame, with Tyler escaping 202-201.  Two-time champ Rashaad Jordan then stopped Hedges' run 203-190 to reach the title game.

      Flagstaff bowler Amelia LaFace defended her hometown turf, emerging from an extremely tight cluster of bowlers as the top seed.  She rolled a great game in the finals and Jordan was unable to keep up the pace, and the final result was a 228-172 win for Amelia, earning the first title of her JBT career.

        The day's Women's Series title match was a rematch of the day before, but this time Rachael Berg who came out the winner, beating Bree Vargas 205-167 for her first girls' title of the season.

        Big thanks to the fantastic team at Starlite for a top-notch job hosting our Tour- the center looks amazing, come check it out if you're in the area!  Want in on all this fun? Just check out our schedule and come on down, that's all there is to it!     

Starlite Lanes- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Russ Oviatt $200
2 Paul Colyer $100
3 Harley Sweigart $60
4 Nick Devlin $40
5 Matt Zweig $30
6 Cortez Schenck  
7 Keith Fung  
8 KJ Martinez  
9 Ricardo Mendoza  
10 Jake Hilton  
11 Josh Demick  
12 Bree Vargas  
13 Zach Rapp  
14 Kyle Ponzo  
15 Max Polhill  
16 Josh Fearing $5
17 Steven Acuff  
  Handicap Division  
1 Amelia LaFace $225
2 Rashaad Jordan $125
3 Tyler Hedges $105
4 Jarred Starr-Moncayo $50
5 Abby Franklin $125
6 Mathew Adragna $30
7 Rachael Berg $60
8 Michael Spagnola $15
9 Clifford Robbins  
10 Elijah Melchor  
11 Cristian Roque $45
12 Jerod Walker $75
13 Amanda Atkin  
14 Taylor Knight  
15 Justin Lawrence  
16 Kyle Gilbert $10
17 Sebastian Polhill  
18 Jesse Becker  
19 Chad Alexander  
20 Bex Boyko  
21 Ryan Zent  
22 Phillip Sauve $15
23 Katelyn Spagnola $15
24 William Robbins $5
25 Matt Baker  
26 Sarah Halligan  
27 Kyle Lawrence  
28 Jacob Soulliere  
29 Kristofer Smyth  
30 Destiny Johnson  
31 Connor Lawrence  
32 Dante Rohe  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Sweigart 274 Melchor 290
2 Sweigart 266 Berg 285
3 Zweig 258 Walker 269
4 Devlin 248 J Lawrence 259
5 Oviatt 248 Starr-Moncayo 256
  High Female  
1 Berg +2*  
2 Vargas -67  
3 Franklin -78  
4 Atkin -109  
5 LaFace -150  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Sweigart Walker
2 Sweigart Berg
3 Sweigart Berg - Walker
4 Colyer Walker
5 Colyer Roque
6 Colyer LaFace-Moncayo
7 Oviatt Moncayo
8 Colyer LaFace  
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,335