champs Nick Devlin & James Wilson with runners-up Sergio Torres & Victoria Potter


        Nick Devlin and James Wilson earned the coveted glass cacti as champs of the JBT Desert Open Marathon, hosted by Glenfair Lanes.

        Chase Nadeau qualified first after 15 qualifying games on the very challenging wolf, badger, and bear patterns, and elected to bowl the matchplay portion on badger.  The bigger problem for him was his thumb, which was completely torn up by the end of qualifying.  He bravely got through matches against Trevor Thompson and Russ Oviatt, before bowing out to Sergio Torres in the semifinals.  On the other side of the bracket, Devlin got by Kevin Banaag and Kyle Gilbert, before doing what nobody else in the country could do in July- stopping back-to-back Gold champ Solomon Salama in the semifinals, to advance to one last title match in his JBT career.

        The title match was well bowled by both but turned on a ninth frame open from Torres, allowing Devlin to climb back into the match.  Finishing with five of the last seven strikes, Nick forced Sergio to double for the win.  Torres' first shot left a 4-pin, and with that Nick got the storybook finish to his JBT career, earning his 23rd title of his career with the comeback victory.

        Phillip Sauve performed very well in yet another major, grabbing the top seed for matchplay.  Abby Franklin was able to upset him in five grueling games in the quarterfinals though, before she in turn was stopped by Wilson in the semifinal match. The other side of the bracket was highlighted by an incredible comeback from Veronica Potter, who found herself down 0-2 in her very first match, then peeled off the next seven wins, blitzing newcomer Josh Williams, Darren Fletcher, and Justin Worthington on the way to the title match.

        The finale featured two (very understandably) tired bowlers, but in the end Wilson had enough steam left for the victory, the second of his JBT career.

        Huge thanks to Glenfair for a great job hosting this exciting event.  Want in on all this fun?  Just check out our upcoming schedule and come on down!


Desert Open- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Nick Devlin $639
2 Sergio Torres $250
3 Chase Nadeau $150
4 Solomon Salama $194
5 Ricardo Mendoza $150
6 Russ Oviatt $100
7 Kyle Gilbert $20
8 Matt Zweig  
9 Cortez Schenck $182
10 Kevin Banaag  
11 Kyle Duster  
12 Keith Fung  
13 Joe Grondin  
14 Rachael Berg $128
15 Harley Sweigart $81
16 Trevor Thompson  
17 Chris Ortega  
18 Kaylee Am-Khong  
19 Shelby Dempsey  
20 Taylor Berry  
21 Trevyr Geronimo  
22 Daryus Alo  
23 Kye Reed $24
24 John Newton  
25 Nolan Am-Khong  
26 Tim Hill $5
27 Ricky Pollom  
28 Christian Apolinio  
29 Clifford Baltazar  
30 Cristian Roque  
31 Anthony Sassano  
  Handicap Division  
1 James Wilson $579
2 Victoria Potter $250
3 Justin Worthington $150
4 Abby Franklin $203
5 Phillip Sauve $214
6 Darren Fletcher $100
7 Mark Sauve $28
8 Rieley Ulanday $15
9 Kyle Lawrence $29
10 Christian Caron  
11 William Robbins $5
12 Yael Salama  
13 Kendall Bollea $129
14 CJ Todeschi  
15 Josh Williams $5
16 Silas Phillips  
17 Dawson Reese  
18 Brooke Collins  
19 Ryan Zent  
20 Kyle Perry $5
21 Bernadette Davis  
22 Reagan Russ  
23 Kevin VanGordon  
24 Lexi Cassman  
25 Ranelle Ulanday $14
26 Josh Brown  
27 Clifford Robbins  
28 Destiny Johnson  
29 Alyssa Tucker  
30 Corbin Reid-Hirsch  
31 Ryland Pimentel $7
32 Ryan Perry  
33 Kaitlyn Schroyer  
34 Matt Ross  
35 Zachary Nesius   











  The 2017 JBT Desert Open Marathon    

2014 champs Cortez Schenck & Destiny Johnson; 2015 champs Dallas Leong & Jesse Becker; 2011 champs Riley Dempsey & Ryan Zent



to be held

Saturday & Sunday August 12-13, 2017


Glenfair Lanes 6110 N. 59th Ave, Glendale AZ, (623) 937-9225



All bowlers roll 15 games each on 3 different lane conditions!

Top 16 advance to single elimination matchplay!**

Per block and overall prizes- bonuses for the champs can translate into THOUSANDS:



FORMAT:  (TWO divisions, scratch and handicap)


Friday August 11:

-           4 PM-10 PM:      tournament patterns available for practice (call for specific times & mention Desert Open for discounted rate)


Saturday August 12:

-          10 AM:              5 games, pattern 1

-          2 PM:               5 games, pattern 2  


Sunday August 13:

-          9 AM:               5 games, pattern 3

the top 16  fifteen-game totals advance to matchplay**

-          1 PM:               round of 16, best 3-of-5 matchplay,   highest scratch seed chooses pattern!

-          3:30 PM:           round of 8, best 3-of-5 matchplay    (starting times approx. following round completion)

-          5 PM:               rounds of 4 & 2, single game matches

**23+ entries cuts to 16; 16-22 entries cuts to 12; less than 16 entries cuts to 8



ENTRY FEE:  $100 (includes all scholarships except brackets, available on-site.)       $500 first place guaranteed (plus below)!



PRIZE FUNDS: (based 36 entries- 1:6 earn awards)


Every 5-game block:                                         final standings:                                    CHAMP ALSO RECEIVES:

1st-      $50                                                        1st-          $500                                       - exemption in day 2 of 2018 TPC

                                                                        2nd-         $250                                       - the famous glass cactus trophy!

                                                                        3rd-4th-    $150                                        - 5 brackets AND 25 raffle tix

                                                                        5th-6th     $100                                       at EVERY 17-18 JBT event!

- High overall female (if no other prize won): $100