champs Harley Sweigart & Montana Cdebaca with U17 and Girls winners Nathan Nguyen & Aileen Linares

        Two red-hot bowlers maintained their winning ways, capturing JBT titles in exciting Texas-New Mexico Conference action at Lubbock's Whitewood Lanes.

        After a five-game qualifying round, bowlers competed in 'pick your survivor', where the low score is eliminated game by game, and the higher seeds choose who they want on their pair.  Ten scratch survivors were carved down to four, and in those matches top surviving seed Sweigart defeated Nathan Nguyen 214-192, while Christian Apolonio strung the strikes in a 267-183 win over Stefan Wood in the other semifinal to set up an all-southpaw finale.

        Sweigart has been doing a lot of damage in NM-TX this season, and he made the long trip more than worth it with a 234-206 win over Apolonio for his 20th career JBT title, becoming only the 12th bowler in JBT history to accomplish that impressive milestone- congrats Harley!

        Sixteen handicap survivors were whittled down to three, and in the resulting penultimate match, Montana Cdebaca and Avery Domaguin had the two highest games, leaving rookie Georgia Shields in third place in an excellent performance.   Domaguin was looking to make it an unlikely sweep for San Diego bowlers way out in Lubbock (Harley is an ASU student, and Avery was headed home from Houston), but the talented ten year-old could not do anything about Montana, who won last month at Pojoaque.  She fired a 234 scratch game for a 278-216 final score, cruising to her third career JBT title.

        Nathan Nguyen didn't need to call '91' in the U17 side event, as he defeated U17 leader Daniel Hall 212-203 to win the event.  The Girls Scratch event was captured by Aileen Linares, who defeated Bernadette Davis 187-164 for the win.

        Big thanks to everyone at Whitewood for a great job hosting us.  Want in on all the fun for all ages and averages?  JUst check out our schedule and come on down, that's all you have to do!

Whitewood Lanes- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Harley Sweigart $312
2 Christian Apolonio $125
3 Nathan Nguyen $75
4 Stefan Wood $50
5 Bradley Edwards $59
6 Carson Opela  
7 Kellen Lavery  
8 Noah Martinez  
9 Daniel Hall $15
10 Brad Harvey  
11 Zach Wojciechowski  
12 Aileen Linares  
13 Will Davis  
14 Vanessa Romero  
15 Zach Harvey  
16 Jonah Seawright  
17 Matteo Bergonzi  
18 Josh Demick  
19 Chris Ortega  
20 Chris Furdek  
21 Nicholas Burgess  
  Handicap Division  
1 Montana Cdebaca $207
2 Avery Domaguin $129
3 Georgia Shields $90
4 Jacob Marquis $65
5 Alyssa McCleery $40
6 Kambree Rogers $30
7 Lara Wood $20
8 Zoe Woodruff $5
9 Josie Herson  
10 Matt Ross  
11 Toby Cdebaca $34
12 Trevor Dodson  
13 Taylor Ziegler  
14 Bernadette Davis $7
15 Jordi Gonzalez  
16 Ashton Holladay  
17 Jay Heffer  
18 Tressa Robinson  
19 Mikaela Flores  
20 Yarelis Alvarez  
21 Cassie Robinson  
22 Kaelie Stroud  
23 Desiree Knott $15
24 Donius Jeffries II  
25 Reagan Russ  
26 John Green  
27 Gerilynn Delegarito  
28 Taylor Herson  
29 Eric Gauna  
30 Devin Hodges  
31 Bailey Dodson $50
32 Rebekah Hastings  
33 Alex Thompson  
34 Audrey Campbell  
35 Josh Trevino  
36 Angela Romero  
37 Conner Barnes  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Edwards 279 J Marquis 307
2 Edwards 278 T Cdebaca 297
3 S Wood 277 T Dodson 286
4 Apolonio 267 Z Woodruff 281
5 Sweigart 267 M Cdebaca 278
  Girls Scratch side event  
1 Linares +10*  
2 B Davis -17  
3 McCllery -26  
4 V Romero -31  
5 M Cdebaca -80  
  U-17 scratch side event  
1 Hall +141  
2 Nguyen +73*  
3 Marquis +62  
4 T Cdebaca +27  
5 W Davis +4  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Lavery J Marquis
2 Lavery T Ziegler
3 Lavery J Marquis
4 Edwards Domaguin
5 Edwards Domaguin

Georgia Shields, Montana Cdebaca, Avery Domaguin