champs Elias O'Hollaren & Nathan Ginsburg; Joshua Abigania, Katelyn Abigania, Ethan Ash

            Elias O'Hollaren and Nathan Ginsburg opened up the 2019-20 JBT Southern California Conference season with exciting wins at San Diego's Kearny Mesa Bowl.

            Cerell Cardines began the stepladder finals with a 248-217 win over Trevor Thompson.  O'Hollaren then stopped Cerell 231-208 to reach the title match.

            Top seed Josh Abigania was the oldest bowler in the title match at thirteen years old.  But it was twelve year old Elias who performed like a vet in the title match, winning 202-168 to become one of the youngest scratch champions in JBT history.

            Kaitlynn Yukihiro survived a squeaker over Briana Salazar 179-178 to begin the handicap division stepladder finals.  Ginsburg then stopped Yukihiro 237-190 to reach the title game.

            Top seed Ethan Ash had been brilliant all day, and put up a very respectable 225 against his friend, but Nathan stayed on a roll, blasting 263 to win the title, the second of his JBT career.

            Josh's sister Katelyn Abigania beat Allison Azvedo for the day's Priority Girls scratch win, while O'Hollaren doubled up with a U17 win over Abigania as well.

            Thanks to the team at Kearny for hosting us, Ebonite and all our other sponsors, and everyone for attending.  Want in on all this fun for all ages and averages?  Just check out our schedule and come on down!

Kearny Mesa- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Elias O'Hollaren $250
2 Joshua Abigania $150
3 Cerell Cardines $125
4 Trevor Thompson $159
5 Solomon Salama $134
6 Ryan Lee $60
7 Tim Hill $50
8 Louis Luna  
9 Allex Zieg  
10 Daniel Hong  
11 Josh Williams  
12 KJ Martinez  
13 Katelyn Abigania $50
14 Alberto Bernal  
15 Ricky Pollom  
16 Lamaki Welch  
17 Kyler Orosco  
18 Christopher Berryman  
19 Allison Azvedo $25
20 Dawson Reese $5
21 Marco Flores  
22 Trevyr Geronimo  
23 Jaclyn Azvedo  
24 Cyruss Tehrani  
25 Connor Miyake  
26 Emily Cheesman  
27 Garrett Lee $5
28 Ian Versaggi  
29 Ardani Rodas  
30 Shane Howard  
31 Max Premeau  
32 Darin Thornton  
33 Hailey Shepherd  
34 Shane Inouye  
35 Carlos Perez  
36 Josh Karney  
37 James McGough  
  Handicap Division  
1 Nathan Ginsburg $250
2 Ethan Ash $150
3 Kaitlynn Yukihiro $140
4 Brianna Salazar $100
5 Stephanie Hong $75
6 Avery Domaguin $70
7 Jasmia Alshamary $50
8 Kayden O'Dell $40
9 Cameron Criss $37
10 Zian Sasaki  
11 Aislinn Lubag $15
12 Manuel Gonzalez  
13 Ethan Chambers  
14 Alexis Lee  
15 Nicholas Hockman  
16 Hayden Fernandez  
17 Riley Christy $59
18 Brandon Criss  
19 Ryker Salazar  
20 Yael Salama $7
21 Kendall Bollea  
22 Hayden Wegner  
23 Nathan Tidball  
24 Miya Greene  
25 Noel Hernandez  
26 Nicholas Marrujo  
27 Trevor Zieske  
28 Elias Luna  
29 Raeden Pimentel  
30 Nathan Chambers  
31 Yairi Lubag  
32 Sterling Lopez  
33 Emie Durham  
34 Noah Figueroa  
35 Jimmy Pfaff  
36 Lindsay Greim  
37 Akayla Orosco  
38 Ryland Pimentel  
39 Jacob McGough  
40 Robert Coulon  
41 Prestin Frazee  
42 Flynn Iott  
43 Victoria Potter  
44 Ryan Ginsburg  
45 Ronnie Castillo  
46 Amanda Hanson  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
  D Hong 269 N Ginsburg 307
  Cardines 268 E Ash 279
  T hill 267 N Ginsburg 263
  J Abigania 265 B Salazar 261
  O'Hollaren 259 Bollea 255
  High Female  
1 K Abigania -35*  
2 A Azvedo -67  
3 S Hong -84  
4 Yukihiro -91  
5 Domaguin -110  
  Qualifying Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 J Abigania +93 E Ash +182
2 T Hill +44 Yukihiro +69
3 O'Hollaren +38 S Hong +66
1 J Abigania +93  
2 O'Hollaren +40  
3 Salama +35  
4 Bernal +10  
5 D Hong +7  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Cardines Ash
2 J Abigania Ash
3 J Abigania Ash
4 J Abigania Ash
5 J Abigania Ash
6 Hill Ash
7 J Abigania Ash
8 J Abigania Ash
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,926




Date: Saturday, September 14, 2019

Start Time: 1 PM.   Check in begins at 11 AM.  Please check in no later than 12:30 PM. 

Max bowlers: 96.  Please email to reserve a spot.  You can prepay (not required) at the 'Sign Me Up!' section of this website.  Reservations (paid or unpaid) must check in no later than 30 minutes before start time.  At that time, all bowlers will be taken on a first come, first serve basis until the field is full.

This is a one day event.  Sunday is a separate one day event.  You can bowl only Saturday, only Sunday, or both.

Divisions:  Scratch or handicap.  It is the bowlers' choice of division.  Also, everyone age 16 or under as of 8/1/19 is automatically entered in the U-17 side event.   Also, every female is automatically entered in the Girls Scratch side event. 

Points:  This event counts for So Cal and All-Conference points.

Entry fee: $40 handicap; $50 scratch.  Scholarship brackets are available for $2 each.  Raffle tickets for Ebonite bowling balls, and our PowerBowl and 24 jackpots, are available on-site. 

Scholarships: 1:6 in each division earn scholarships, scratch and handicap.  Minimum prizes in scratch are $250, $125, $75, $50.  In handicap, $200, $100, $60, $40.  Bowlers must finish in the top 4 twice in a conference to qualify for that conference's Invitational, which features $1,000 for first place.  Bowlers who finish in the top 20 in a conference's points race, or the top 100 in all-conference points, qualify for the Touring Players Championship, featuring $2,000 for first.

Lane conditions: conditions vary from event to event, and are not posted prior to the event (unless otherwise announced).  Some events do not post the pattern until after qualifying.  Be ready for anything- it makes you a better bowler!  Check out previous patterns and corresponding cut scores at the 'lane conditions' section of this website.


Salama, Solomon

Salama, Yael

Hanson, Amanda

Hill, Tim

Bollea, Kendall

Hockman, N

Gonzalez, M

Bernal, A

Orosco, K

Orosco, A

Hernandez, N

Chambers, N

Chambers, E

Berryman, C

Criss, C

Criss, B

Lubag, A

Lubag, Y

Hong, S

Hong, D