SHAKE, RATTLE, & BOWL at Cliff Castle Casino

presented by Days Inn Camp Verde

champions Kevin Saunders & Cameron Peck

Kevin Saunders captured his 6th career JBT SW title, while 11 year-old Cameron Peck joined his big brother as JBT SW champions in exciting action at Shake, rattle, and Bowl.

An extremely challenging lane condition put a premium on shotmaking and spares.  Combining that with our nail-biting Survivor semifinals format- where the low score on each pair is eliminated after every game- yielded do-or-die shots throughout the center.  The only two bowlers to average 200+ after qualifying, Brandon Allred and Christian Jensen, were eliminated in middle rounds.

Eventually the scratch division was whittled down to 8, resulting in head-to-head matches from that point on.  The only blowout in that round was Savahna Porter's 234-162 dismissal of Labriel Leach.  All the other matches came down to the tenth frame: DeShaun Jefferson defeated Justin Medina 182-161, Kevin Saunders doubled in the tenth to defeat Bill Grant 189-187, and Grant Sudbeck got by Andy Byer 177-175 when Andy failed to strike in his tenth.

In semifinal matches, Saunders dispatched Sudbeck 217-190, while Porter edged Jefferson 179-175, to set up the title match between Kevin and Savahna.

Porter was looking to become the 5th female scratch champion in JBT SW history, while Kevin had already claimed the early points lead by getting this far.  Saunders, who had qualified third, seemed to leave a ringing-10 every time he had a chance to put the match away, and compounded that by missing two of them. Porter, however, had uncharacteristic spare trouble of her own, handing the match right back to Saunders.  When Kevin got a 9-count on his first ball in the the tenth, he sealed a 183-175 win, and the well-earned title.

The handicap division saw a plethora of younger and lower-average bowlers make the cut, as many of the higher average handicap bowlers were confounded by the conditions.  In round of 8 matches, Cameron Peck eliminated David Price, who had two good tournaments and won a bowling ball on the weekend, Wendy Shelton stopped Bethany Baker's fine run, Susan Kurzeka eliminated top-qualifier Zachary Barnard, while Alicia Sullivan got the best of Jewels Giordano.

In the semifinals, Peck was too much for Shelton to handle, as he cruised past Shelton, 215-175.  In the other match, Kurzeka just got by Sullivan, 216-205, to advance to her first title match.

Peck, the younger brother of 3-time winner Shane Peck, had found no success in his first few JBT events, but was unfazed by the raucous title match atmosphere, and neither was Kurzeka, as they both got off to good starts.  But, just when it looked like Kurzeka was closing the handicap difference, Peck came up with a 2-4-10 split conversion, and rode the momentum the rest of the way to a 254-221 win, and the first title of his JBT SW career.

Thanks once again to Phil Oates and his great staff for hosting a jam-packed event.  $3,382 in scholarships was awarded to a 109-bowler field, thanks in large part to a terrific sponsorship from Ms. Tammy Roper and Days Inn Camp Verde, which all our bowlers and parents deeply appreciate. 


Shake, Rattle, & Bowl- final results and optional scholarship winners
Arizona Conference
Survivor Format- 5 game totals listed
Scratch Division
rank name city, state score prize
1 Kevin Saunders Goodyear, AZ m 26 $380
2 Savahna Porter Yuma, AZ m 98 $200
3 Grant Sudbeck Tucson, AZ m 91 $125
4 DeShaun Jefferson Phoenix, AZ m 146 $100
5 Justin Medina Santa Fe, NM m 69 $95
6 Bill Grant Rio Rancho, NM m 77 $70
7 Labriel Leach Tucson, AZ m 119 $60
8 Andy Byer Albuquerque, NM m 131 $77
9 Forrest Holland Vista, CA m 44 $85
10 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ m 70 $45
11 Emily Ornelas Phoenix, AZ m 80 $20
12 Nathan Panaligan N. Las Vegas, NV m 87 $110
13 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ m 68  
14 Greg Garbera Glendale, AZ m 93 $30
15 Kris George Glendale, AZ m 125 $15
16 Michael Cripe San Diego, CA m 148  
17 Brandon Allred Las Vegas, NV p 73 $126
18 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ p 59 $119
19 Jeremy Medina Santa Fe, NM m 99 $15
20 Eric Rubin Phoenix, AZ m 134 $15
21 Paul Haymaker Maricopa, AZ m 37 $64
22 Cameron Smith Santee, CA m 43
23 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ m 83 $15
24 Tiffany Chi Prescott, AZ m 129 $15
25 Elias Ewert Chandler, AZ m 59  
26 Greg Geering Phoenix, AZ m 80
27 Sarah Carity Albuquerque, NM m 111  
28 Kacy Bonifacini San Diego, CA m 141  
29 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ m 87 $30
30 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ m 90  
31 Mike Kremer Peoria, AZ m 106 $15
32 Zach Simon Scottsdale, AZ m 118  
33 Kevin Narciso Phoenix, AZ m 154
34 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA m 160
35 Joseph Anderson Avondale, AZ m 168  
36 Bryan Caldwell Phoenix, AZ m 181
37 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV m 182
38 Christina Waldron Albuquerque, NM m 183
39 Brandon Donnelly Lake Havasu City, AZ m 187
40 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM m 191
41 Shane Peck San Bernardino, CA m 194
42 Taylor Brennan Prescott, AZ m 196 $15
43 Amanda Falk Tucson, AZ m 198
44 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ m 203
45 Bear Wiltfang Lake Havasu City, AZ m 204
46 Kevin Schoenfeld Peoria, AZ m 208
47 Paul Szymanski Phoenix, AZ m 214
48 Robert Majeske Tucson, AZ m 215  
49 Eric Warren Phoenix, AZ m 217 $30
50 Dan Eagy Phoenix, AZ m 218
51 Mike Hayes Tucson, AZ m 235
52 Rebecca Bodinet Phoenix, AZ m 257
53 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ m 271
54 Matthew Erb Phoenix, AZ m 289
55 Mike Armstrong Tucson, AZ m 290
56 Andy Reynoso Las Vegas, NV m 296
57 Dan Bodinet Phoenix, AZ M 303
58 Rane Lacona Phoenix, AZ m 306
59 Steven Black (left) Phoenix, AZ m 317
Handicap Division
rank name city, state score prize
1 Cameron Peck San Bernardino, CA m 36 $300
2 Susan Kurzeka Albuquerque, NM m 55 $245
3 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ p 10 $161
4 Wendy Shelton Albuquerque, NM m 63 $80
5 Zachary Barnard Albuquerque, NM p 49 $142
6 Jewels Giordano Phoenix, AZ m 5 $120
7 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ m 37 $65
8 David Price Safford, AZ m 89 $70
9 Mark Mares Los Lunas, NM p 15 $122
10 Philip Stephens Phoenix, AZ p 7 $30
11 Taylor King Phoenix, AZ m 85  
12 Francisco Peralta Tucson, AZ m 98  
13 Kendrick Russell Queen Creek, AZ p 15 $20
14 Kyle Bridgman Kingman, AZ p 18 $15
15 Austin Mansfield Albuquerque, NM m 8 $21
16 Paul Carper Rio Rancho, NM m 46 $20
17 Nicole Stanczak Phoenix, AZ m 41 $30
18 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ m 73  
19 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ m 111 $15
20 Holly Emery Queen Creek, AZ m 118  
21 Kristian Noel Lusterio San Diego, CA m 19  
22 Brandon Longo Phoenix, AZ m 26  
23 Janeyl Carper Rio Rancho, NM m 35 $35
24 Alesha Pannier Lake Havasu City, AZ m 67
25 Michael Curry Phoenix, AZ m 18  
26 Daniel Cotton Phoenix, AZ m 68 $15
27 Tiffany King Surpise, AZ m 82
28 Ashley Dale Albuquerque, NM m 114  
29 Amy Dorsey Prescott Valley, AZ m 121  
30 Amanda Vadnais Prescott, AZ m 126
31 Justin White Phoenix, AZ m 127
32 Charlie Elliott Santa Fe, NM m 132  
33 Steven Pizzi Avondale, AZ m 134  
34 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ m 135  
35 Jacob Fischer Peoria, AZ m 152  
36 Alex Ellis Phoenix, AZ m 156  
37 kayla Frederick Chandler, AZ m 165  
38 Bo La Londe Mesa, AZ m 175  
39 Kyle Ruzylo Oceanside, CA m 178  
40 Michael Kenny Prescott Valley, AZ m 178  
41 Kylee Bonneville Mesa, AZ m 179  
42 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ m 182
43 Anthony Tripi El Paso, TX m 184
44 Foster Phandanouvong San Diego, CA m 190
45 Bryanna Dawson Chandler, AZ m 199
46 Cody Mansfield Albuquerque, NM m 207
47 Megan Withey Glendale, AZ m 236
48 Nick Powanda San Diego, CA m 249
49 Joey Longo Phoenix, AZ m 523
High Female: Davis 912
Cuts: scratch -148; handicap -118
Storm Ball Winner: David Price
Jr. Gold Qualifier: none