champions Cameron Smith & Alesha Pannier

A handicap division 'graduate' finally came through for a scratch victory, while Alesha Pannier broke through for her first win, in exciting JBT SW action at Gold Coast.

In the scratch division, Arizonan Tom Anderson opened the stepladder finals with a 224-176 win over California's Shane Peck.  Anderson then went spare-7 bagger in round two to dispose of local talent Brandon Allred 244-202.  Tom then slowed down in the semifinal, and a late string by Cameron Smith made the difference in Smith's 223-188 victory, advancing him to the title match.

Cameron had a tall task ahead of him in facing top-seed Nathan Panaligan.  Nathan dominated the field all day long, and was looking to open the 05-06 Mojave Conference season with his third consecutive victory, a feat only achieved once before in JBT SW history (by superstar Andrew Cain, who opened the 98-99 Arizona season with four in a row).  However, Cameron didn't back off, as both bowlers traded strikes and 9-counts most of the way.  In the tenth, Panaligan's solid-9 forced a 19-count out of Smith.  Under great pressure, Smith left a solid-9 himself, spared it, and struck on the fill ball for a 216-214 victory.  It was Smith's 2nd title, but first scratch, and after many others tried, he became the first of the bowlers who moved from handicap to scratch this summer to claim a JBT SW victory.

Cameron also earns an extra $50 scholarship from Etonic bowling shoes for wearing their shoes throughout the day. The whole JBT SW, and Cameron especially, would like to thank Etonic again for their generous bonus offer! 

Ricky Overton won the opening match of the handicap division finals by defeating Allie Ijams 232-213. In round two it was Overton over Scott Schickling by a 228-177 margin.  The semifinal was a different story, however, as Alesha Pannier took over with a 218-206 win, advancing her to her first career title match.

Top qualifier Jordan Katz impressed the crowd all day long with his slow-rolling, big hooking lefty strike ball, but found himself in a dogfight with a determined Pannier, who was easily having her career best JBT event.  After a four-bagger to take over, Katz left an unfortunate blowout 7-10 in the ninth frame to give Pannier an opportunity which she would take full advantage of.  After a brooklyn strike on her first ball, Alesha's second ball in the tenth was dead flush, and when Jordan could not match her double, Pannier had herself a 235-230 victory and her first JBT SW title.

Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2006 JBT SW Mojave Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2006 JBT SW Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

  Thanks to Rich, Janie, and everyone at Gold Coast for being gracious hosts again for our Tour. 80 entrants shared in over $1,700 in scholarships awarded.  Please continue to help spread the word about the terrific benefits of bowling JBT SW events! 

Gold Coast- final results and optional scholarship winners
Mojave Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $288
2 Nathan Panaligan N. Las Vegas, NV $148
3 Tom Anderson Chandler, AZ $60
4 Brandon Allred Las Vegas, NV $143
5 Shane Peck Riverside, CA $40
6 Justin Medina Santa Fe, NM $30
7 Forrest Holland Vista, CA $15
8 Emily Ornelas Phoenix, AZ  
9 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM $8
10 Josh Wilson Fallbrook, CA $60
11 Jeremy Medina Santa Fe, NM  
12 Matt Pentz Lake Havasu City, AZ  
13 Steven Slivka Las Vegas, NV  
14 Chris Hooks Las Vegas, NV  
15 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ  
16 Mike Ellingson Las Vegas, NV  
17 Carl Winder Las Vegas, NV  
18 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV $8
19 Jeff Mathews Las Vegas, NV  
20 Kevin Houck Lake Havasu City, AZ  
21 Tiffany Chi Prescott, AZ $40
22 Brandon Watts Lake Havasu City, AZ  
23 Joe Claspell Lake Havasu City, AZ  
24 Paolo Castro Las Vegas, NV  
25 Bobby Sherman Las Vegas, NV  
26 Ryan McNeel Las Vegas, NV  
27 Chris Kagawa Las Vegas, NV  
28 Andy Reynoso Las Vegas, NV  
29 Taylor McKenrick Henderson, NV  
30 Bobby Majdanski Las Vegas, NV  
31 Ray Griffith Las Vegas, NV  
32 Amanda Voight Las Vegas, NV  
33 Jessica Hetkowski Las Vegas, NV  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Alesha Pannier Lake Havasu City, AZ $212
2 Jordan Katz Las Vegas, NV $100
3 Ricky Overton Las Vegas, NV $70
4 Scott Schickling Lake Havasu City, AZ $102
5 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA $125
6 Blaine Hellman Las Vegas, NV $55
7 Chase Nadeau Las Vegas, NV $30
8 Cameron Peck Riverside, CA $110
9 Jason Majdanski Las Vegas, NV  
10 Chris Dycus Las Vegas, NV  
11 Zach Hattori Henderson, NV  
12 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ $12
13 Kyle Adams Las Vegas, NV $24
14 Merrill Hill Las Vegas, NV  
15 Bryce Hackney Las Vegas, NV $15
16 Maddie Pellegrino Henderson, NV  
17 Brandon Davis Lake Havasu City, AZ $15
18 Kyle Bridgman Kingman, AZ $30
19 Tim Lee Las Vegas, NV  
20 Krysta Nadeau Las Vegas, NV  
21 Paul Heuther Las Vegas, NV  
22 Alyssa Madrid Las Vegas, NV  
23 Hannah Chipman Las Vegas, NV $15
24 Sasha Black Ft Mohave, AZ  
25 Mary Sutton Las Vegas, NV  
26 Nick Lamek Las Vegas, NV  
27 Meissa Heuther Las Vegas, NV  
28 Jessica Johnson Lake Havasu City, AZ
29 Breezy Sharma Lake Havasu City, AZ  
30 Quinn Hill Las Vegas, NV  
31 Aubrey Calabrese Las Vegas, NV  
32 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ  
33 Ryan Yadao Las Vegas, NV  
34 Alex Katz Las Vegas, NV  
35 Sam Cefalu Las Vegas, NV  
36 Logan Kennedy Las Vegas, NV  
37 Ashley Olriksen Las Vegas, NV  
38 Jordan Ferrer Henderson, NV  
39 Michael May San Diego, CA  
40 Summer Martin Las Vegas, NV  
41 Troy Graydon Las Vegas, NV  
42 Melanie Griffith Las Vegas, NV $15
43 Sean Adams Las Vegas, NV  
44 Sean Huggins Las Vegas, NV $15
45 Sean Harrison Las Vegas, NV  
46 Brandon Ramirez Las Vegas, NV  
47 Casey Bybee Las Vegas, NV  
PowerBowl games: 130-279-228 (no winners)  
Cuts: scratch miuns 30; handicap plus 8  
Storm Ball Winner: Sean Harrison  
Junior Gold Qualifiers: Emily Ornelas,Shane Peck  
300 Games: none