champions Andy Byer & Jerrico Palma

Brand-new Oasis lanes got its first taste of JBT SW action, and Andy Byer and Jerrico Palma liked the place just fine, capturing victories in exciting New Mexico-Texas Conference action.

The scratch division finals opened with Jerod Florez, who thrilled the crowd by tossing a 300 game in the opening game of the tournament, continuing his impressive day with a 215-212 win over Jeremy Medina, who is enjoying a fine season but is piling up the fifth place finishes.

In round two, Bill Grant, who fired a 287 earlier, put on another fine show in dispatching Florez by a 237-175 margin.  The tables were turned in the semifinals, however, as local favorite Stephen Gaucin gave Grant no room in a 268-193 win to advance to the championship game. 

Top qualifier Andy Byer, the defending NM-TX Bowler of the Year, was looking to reverse a slow start to the new season, but the always tough Gaucin wasn't going away without a fight.  In the end, Andy's spare in the tenth was enough to wrap up a 223-214 victory, good for the 7th title of his increasingly impressive JBT SW career.

The handicap division finals opened with Krista Casaus, oldest sister of Leisure Bowl champion Kyla, keep the family tradition alive with a 224 game that defeated CJ Jordan (206) and Kirstie Jones (197).  Despite the loss, Jones made history as the lowest average bowler ever to make the stepladder finals (39).  

In round two Krista got red hot, rolling a big 255 to defeat Janeyl Carper (206) and Heaven Pajala (188).  The semifinal match was a tense affair, but in the end Casaus had just enough gas to put together a 228 score, edging Christa Harvey's 217 and Jonathan Frederick's 205, advancing her to the title match.

Top qualifier Jerrico Palma had been the dominant bowler of the day, and started off that way in the title match.  Some miscues in the middle frames made it close, but the exhausted Casaus, despite a great effort, didn't quite have enough left for one more comeback.  The final score of 206-184 was good for the first JBT SW title of Palma's career.

Thanks to Bobby Stives and his great staff for doing an excellent job hosting us.  The JBT SW looks forward to many more stops to this beautiful new center.     

Oasis Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners  
New Mexico-Texas Conference      
Scratch Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Andy Byer Albuquerque, NM p 323 $260
2 Stephen Gaucin El Paso, TX p 292 $109
3 Bill Grant Rio Rancho, NM p 255 $83
4 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM p 150 $54
5 Jeremy Medina Santa Fe, NM p 76 $25
6 Shane Peck Riverside, CA m 7 $24
7 Josh Arceo Albuquerque, NM m 18  
8 Chris Johnson El Paso, TX m 137 $10
9 Justin DeDera Albuquerque, NM m 38  
10 Christina Waldron Albuquerque, NM m 64 $10
11 William Entsminger El Paso, TX m 80  
12 Sarah Carity somewhere… m 148  
13 BJ Eichensehr El Paso, TX m 175  
14 Mark Benson El Paso, TX m 198  
15 Ashley Dale Albuquerque, NM m 233  
Handicap Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Jerrico Palma Roswell, NM p 278 $305
2 Krista Casaus Roswell, NM p 129 $110
3 Jonathan Frederick El Paso, TX p 204  
4 Christa Harvey Las Cruces, NM p 191 $81
5 Heaven Pajala Albuquerque, NM p 191 $75
6 Janeyl Carper Rio Rancho, NM p 181 $102
7 Kirstie Jones Roswell, NM p 181  
8 CJ Jordan El Paso, TX p 144 $50
9 Nathan Hughes San Jose, NM p 120 $45
10 Cory Shepan Las Cruces, NM p 115 $20
11 Kayla Jones Roswell, NM p 79  
12 Vincent McCormick El Paso, TX p 73  
13 Thomas Gutierrez Albuquerque, NM p 70  
14 Kelsey Jones Roswell, NM p 56  
15 Ryan Fast Roswell, NM p 46  
16 Kendra Jones Roswell, NM p 37  
17 Jesse Henson Hobbs, NM p 37  
18 Susan Kurzeka Albuquerque, NM p 35 $45
19 Zak Covert El Paso, TX p 34  
20 Amanda Johnson Rio Rancho, NM p 31 $76
21 Juan Romero Albuquerque, NM p 21 $15
22 Paul Carper Rio Rancho, NM p 20 $6
23 Charlie Elliott Santa Fe, NM p 20  
24 LJ Matthews Las Cruces, NM p 20  
25 Michael Hinojosa Las Cruces, NM p 14  
26 Kara Casaus Roswell, NM p 10  
27 Brandon Dye Roswell, NM p 10  
28 Kyla Casaus Roswell, NM m 21  
29 Zachary Barnard Albuquerque, NM m 37 $30
30 Misty Carrasco El Paso, TX m 10 $10
31 Bailey McFarland El Paso, TX m 13  
32 Brandon Culp El Paso, TX m 15  
33 PJ Gordon El Paso, TX m 19  
34 Cameron Peck Riverside, CA m 19 $15
35 Carlos Medez El Paso, TX m 25 $10
36 Andrew Esparza El Paso, TX m 26  
37 Cyera Quintana El Paso, TX m 27  
38 Jennifer Fast Roswell, NM m 32  
39 Taylor Cruz Santa Fe, NM m 36 $30
40 Julia Carrasco El Paso, TX m 36  
41 Joseph Palma Roswell, NM m 37  
42 McKenzie Nicolson El Paso, TX m 48  
43 Jeremy Baca Albuquerque, NM m 48  
44 Ahkeen Williams El Paso, TX m 51  
45 John Freeman Silver City, NM m 58  
46 Brook Scraberry Roswell, NM m 60  
47 Anthony Tripi El Paso, TX m 67 $11
48 Travis Gudelj Albuquerque, NM m 67  
49 Andrew McKinsey Rio Rancho, NM m 76  
50 Cody Homnick El Paso, TX m 77  
51 Travis Shepan Las Cruces, NM m 84  
52 Nico Mejia El Paso, TX m 108  
53 Cory Prater El Paso, TX m 109  
54 Brittany Prater El Paso, TX m 120  
55 Eric Kear Albuquerque, NM m 120 $10
56 Mark Mares Los Lunas, NM m 121  
57 Aurora Popple El Paso, TX m 123  
58 Brandy Main Roswell, NM m 124  
59 Lee Nicolson El Paso, TX m 136  
Cuts: scratch -18; handicap -1      
Storm Ball Winner: John Freeman      
Jr. Gold Qualifier: none