champs BJ Baker & Drew Stern

   BJ Baker had a nearly perfect finish to his day en route to his 11th JBT SW title, while David Stern earned his first JBT SW victory the hard way, in exciting action at Parkway Bowl.

   Scoring during earlier rounds was highlighted by Jared Lawrence, who has twice won JBT SW events at Parkway before, showing he intended to add a third by tossing a perfect 300 in game #4, his sixth career perfect game.  Jared will split the season-long $2000 scholarship bonus provided by Storm for all 300 games rolled during the season, and will receive a special shirt from Cody's Sportswear.

  The scratch finals opened with a battle of two more 300 game specialists, as Mason Sherman easily defeated Steven Black by a 224-159 score.  In round two, Forrest Holland's double in the tenth appeared to give him the win, but a 7-count on the fill ball gave Sherman new life.  Needing to roll all three strikes in the tenth to tie, he did just that for a 218 deadlock.  In our thrilling one-shot rolloff, Holland struck first, forcing Sherman to do the same, and again he was up to the challenge, forcing a second rolloff.  In this one, Forrest again struck to put the pressure back on Mason, who threw a good ball but left a 4-pin, finally giving Holland the draining win.

   In the semifinal match, Holland ran out of gas just as BJ Baker was getting started, and Baker ran off six in a row for a 246-190 win to advance to his first title match of the season.  Top qualifier Lawrence hadn't been tested much all day, going plus-364 for his eight games, and was able to roll a big 237 in the title match- and, incredibly, he never had a chance in the game.  That's because BJ rattled off the first ten strikes, getting in position to become the second bowler to roll a 300 in a JBT SW title match.  However, a perfect 11th shot left a solid-10 for the lefty, who settled for a 289, plenty good to capture the 11th title of his career, two behind Mike Ramsey for 4th on our all-time list.

   The handicap division saw its fair share of excitement in the stepladder finals as well.  In round one, Troy Lien just squeaked by Wesley low by a 197-195 margin.  In an equally tight round two, Lien struck out for a 224 game, forcing a mark out of Cameron Peck.  Peck, who already has a title this season in Arizona, was up to the task, converting the 1-2-8 for a 235-224 win.  In round three, both bowlers bowled very well, but Drew Stern got the strikes he needed to defeat Peck by a 252-229 score, advancing him to his first title match.

   Top qualifier Michael May exploded for 260 and 290 games (with handicap) to finish the qualifying round, and 283 to finish the semifinal round, so we already knew he could come up clutch when he needed to.  Stern was clutch himself when he doubled in the tenth, but then a short count on his fill ball gave new life to May.  Needing a spare on his fill ball to tie the match, May converted the 1-2, ending the match all square at 238, only the second tie in the handicap title match in our history (the other was way back in 1999).  In the rolloff that followed, Stern stayed clean early, and that provided the difference he needed, winning the rolloff 95-60, good for his first career JBT SW title in thrilling fashion.

  Thanks to everyone at Parkway Bowl for hosting another great JBT SW event.  Over $1,900 in scholarships were awarded to a 92-bowler field.  Jared Lawrence claimed a spot in the Junior Gold Finals by winning the qualifier, and Christina Fraijo won a Storm Diablo bowling ball in the raffle.  Congratulations to all our winners!     

Parkway Bowl- final results and optional scholarship winners
Southern California Conference
Scratch Division
rank name city, state score prize
1 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ p 231 $225
2 Jared Lawrence Torrance, CA p 364 $179
3 Forrest Holland Vista, CA p 224 $185
4 Mason Sherman Moorpark, CA p 203 $70
5 Steven Black Phoenix, AZ p 194 $165
6 Jeff Spiesman Ventura, CA p 187 $30
7 DeShaun Jefferson Phoenix, AZ p 161 $25
8 Sam Hitchcok Lake Forest, CA p 143 $30
9 Devin Bidwell Ventura, CA p 127
10 Anthony Diaz San Diego, CA p 124 $15
11 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA p 110 $45
12 Kevin Valmonte EL Monte, CA p 104
13 Danielle Schilling Littlerock, CA p 103  
14 Shelby Shirlock Lake Elsinore, CA p 91 $15
15 Cameron Smith Santee, CA p 90  
16 Kacy Bonifacini San Diego, CA p 83  
17 Brian Carmichael Moreno Valley, CA p 75 $13
18 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ even
19 Sarah Carity Albuquerque, NM m 18
20 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM m 23
21 JR Monteith Orange, CA m 72  
22 Shane Peck Riverside, CA m 83 $28
23 Wesley Buckles Chicago, IL m 23
24 Justin Lou San Diego, CA m 25
25 Michael Cripe San Diego, CA m 33
26 Steven Lanning San Diego, CA m 40
27 Drew Thevenot Santee, CA m 41
28 Matthew Hutchinson Escondido, CA m 54
29 Robert Page Los Angeles, CA m 59
30 Brittany Page Los Angeles, CA m 60
31 Jason Hermann San Diego, CA m 64
32 Kris George Glendale, AZ m 74
33 Nick Reid Los Angeles, CA m 97
34 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ m 103  
35 Matthew Spive Escondido, CA m 106
36 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ m 110
37 Brandon Donnelly Lake Havasu City, AZ m 122
38 Richard Brown Rancho Sata Margarita, CA m 131
39 Jason Larcome Chula Vista, CA m 145
40 Bear Wiltfang Lake Havasu City, AZ m 155
41 Rebekah Gottlieb Las Vegas, NV m 213
42 Berman Sae-Aee San Diego, CA
Handicap Division
rank name city, state score prize
1 Drew Stern Northridge, CA p 236 $215
2 Michael May San Diego, CA p 250 $115
3 Cameron Peck Riverside, CA p 231 $240
4 Troy Lien El Cajon, CA p 199  
5 Wesley Low Palmdale, CA p 194 $9
6 Philip Stephens Phoenix, AZ p 188 $59
7 Brenden Lou San Diego, CA p 156 $40
8 Kyle Ruzylo Oceanside, CA p 127 $30
9 Foster Phandanouvong San Diego, CA p 125 $55
10 Louis Barragan Burbank, CA p 124 $29
11 Andrew Chain San Diego, CA p 110 $39
12 Alysha Cuevas Wilmington, CA p 92 $25
13 Alex Powell Phoenix, AZ p 80 $9
14 Monical Lozano San Diego, CA p 77 $24
15 Nikki Elberts Sylmar, CA p 72  
16 Todd Udell San Diego, CA p 71 $15
17 Kristine Cuevas Wilmington, CA p 71  
18 Jeff Ingram San Diego, CA p 46  
19 Melissa Long Long Beach, CA p 27 $15
20 Mimi Duong San Diego, CA p 6 $15
21 Matt Schrank El Cajon, CA m 13
22 James Hawkins Jr. Moreno Valley, CA m 37  
23 Megan Withey Glendale, AZ m 61
24 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA m 89
25 Paul Ospital Crestline, CA m 104  
26 Anthony Rodieck El Cajon, CA p 11  
27 Jaymes Conn La Mesa, CA p 9  
28 Anthony Cruz San Diego, CA m 5
29 Lana Lycan San Diego, CA m 10  
30 David Bates El Cajon, CA m 17
31 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA m 28 $15
32 Marycruz Mora San Diego, CA m 28
33 Christina Fraijo Corona, CA m 30
34 Shane Lien El Cajon, CA m 31
35 Sean Buranhiran San Diego, CA m 37
36 Michael Lozano San Diego, CA m 43  
37 Samantha Meyers Mission Hills, CA m 49
38 Tyler Boscarino Alpine, CA m 55
39 Christopher Cuevas Wilmington, CA  m 85
40 Jesse Orlowski San Diego, CA m 86
41 Kelly Ruzylo Oceanside, CA m 88
42 Matt Rennick La Mesa, CA m 97
43 Steohanie Udell San Diego, CA m 105
44 Ronnie Nophalath San Diego, CA m 110
45 Josh Giraldo North Hills, CA m 120
46 Martika Cabezas Cathedral City, CA m 121
47 Kristian Lusterio San Diego, CA m 127
48 Justin Basom Lemon Grove, CA m 134
49 Denise Way San Diego, CA m 193
PowerBowl games: 267-228-190 (no winners)
Cuts: scratch minus 20; handicap plus 16
Storm Ball Winner:Christina Fraijo
Junior Gold Qualifiers: Jared Lawrence
300 Games: Jared Lawrence