champs Andy Byer & Derek Valencia

Andy Byer claimed an important victory, while Derek Valencia made it two in a row, in exciting JBT action at El Paso's Fiesta Lanes.

The scratch division's stepladder finals began in dramatic fashion, as Christian Jensen and Stephen Gaucin ended up in a 212 tie thanks to Jensen's open tenth frame.  Gaucin took advantage to win the rolloff 10-9 to advance.  Byer then stopped Gaucin 212-209, and followed with a 219-169 win over Nathan Shock to reach the title match.

Top seed Justin Medina had already made JBT history on the day, firing not one but TWO 300 games on the day, only the second bowler to accomplish that feat in our SW conferences.   However, he found himself in a battle with the always-tough Byer, who needed the win to pad his potential Bowler of the Year stats.  In a stunning turn of events, needing a strike in the tenth to shut Andy out, Medina clipped his ankle and the ball fell into the gutter.  Justin amazingly composed himself enough to make the spare, thus forcing Andy to double for the win.  Byer was up to the task, flushing two shots for the 223-218 win, the 16th title of his JBT career.

Valencia climbed the 8-person handicap stepladder, a daunting task, to claim his second straight NM-TX title.  He began with a big 250 game in round one to defeat Sam Zermeno (225) and Amber Robinson (205).  In round two, his 211 was good enough to beat Kailynn Sanders (202) and LJ Matthews (197).  The semifinal match was a thriller, as Tomas Reyes fired 190, but could only watch as Valencia and Kyla Casuas tied at 207.  In the two-frame rolloff, Kyla forced Derek to double, which Valencia indeed did to reach the title match.

Top seed Carlos Mendez used a big game 8 to capture the top seed, but found himself in an entertainnig battle with Valencia, with both bowlers throwing clutch shot after clutch shot late in the game.  In the end, Carlos' tenth frame dou8ble forced the same from Valencia, and again Derek was up to the task, striking out for a 254-248 win and the title.

Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT NM-TX Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Over $1,800 in scholarships was awarded to the field, and we appreciate the great turnout as we head towards the thrilling finish to the season!

Fiesta Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners    
NM-TX Conference      
Scratch Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Andy Byer Albuquerque, NM p 278 $250
2 Justin Medina Santa Fe, NM p 408 $177
3 Nathan Shock Thornton, CO p 310 $81
4 Stephen Gaucin El Paso, TX p 254 $66
5 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ p 277 $70
6 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ p 192 $106
7 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ p 163  
8 Geoffrey Young Denton, TX p 149 $45
9 William Entsminger El Paso, TX p 131 $15
10 Bill Grant Rio Rancho, NM p 92 $45
11 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ m 35  
12 Jonathan Frederick El Paso, TX m 50  
13 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM m 3  
14 Jeremy Medina Santa Fe, NM m 11  
15 Josh Reyes El Paso, TX m 65  
16 Travis Turner Amarillo, TX m 73  
17 Tyler Carbajal El Paso, TX m 89  
18 Thomas Gutierrez Albuquerque, NM m 93  
19 Zachary Barnard Albuquerque, NM m 106 $5
20 Paul Carper Paul Carper m 107 $5
21 Michelle Snyder Alamogordo, NM m 189  
Handicap Division      
rank name city, state   prize
1 Derek Valencia Albuquerque, NM p 122 $383
2 Carlos Mendez El Paso, TX p 199 $100
3 Tomas Reyes El Paso, TX p 191 $85
4 Kyla Casaus Roswell, NM p 152 $60
5 LJ Matthews Las Cruces, NM p 151 $50
6 Kailynn Sanders Roswell, NM p 127 $40
7 Sam Zermeno El Paso, TX p 117 $30
8 Amber Robinson El Paso, TX p 122 $25
9 Dillon Bridge El Paso, TX p 112 $20
10 Sabrina Vargas Albuquerque, NM p 112 $26
11 Sara Vargas Albuquerque, NM p 111 $15
12 Kristina Casaus Roswell, NM p 111  
13 Amanda Miles El Paso, TX p 107  
14 Ashley Olriksen Albuquerque, NM p 105 $16
15 Dakota Quarles El Paso, TX p 93  
16 Sophie Diaz Santa Fe, NM p 92 $15
17 Kendra Jones Roswell, NM p 86 $15
18 Alicia Chahine El Paso, TX p 85 $15
19 Billy Read Albuquerque, NM p 57  
20 Cassie Bacoccini Albuquerque, NM p 54  
21 Olivia Silva Albuquerque, NM p 46 $15
22 Dakota Corbell Roswell, NM p 24  
23 Debbie Read Albuquerque, NM p 22  
24 Ahkeen Williams Las Cruces, NM p 15  
25 Kirstie Jones Roswell, NM p 7  
26 Nathan Hughes San Jose, NM m 29 $30
27 Juamai Cupeles El Paso, TX inc card  
28 Rodolfo Rubio El Paso, TX p 18  
29 Bobby Morgan El Paso, TX p 15 $11
30 Debbie Jarzemba Albuquerque, NM p 12  
31 Monty Samaniego Las Cruces, NM p 12  
32 Kayla Jones Roswell, NM p 10  
33 Diego Borron El Paso, TX p 9  
34 Aurora Popple El Paso, TX p 7  
35 Janeyl Carper Rio Rancho, NM p 3  
36 Raul Rubio El Paso, TX even  
37 Alyssa Williams El Paso, TX m 2  
38 Justin Oertel Albuquerque, NM m 3  
39 Dakota Samaniego Las Cruces, NM m 4  
40 Ryan Scheer Rio Rancho, NM m 17  
41 Brandy Main Roswell, NM m 19  
42 Kendal Sanders Roswell, NM m 20  
43 Kara Casaus Roswell, NM m 23 $5
44 Aaron Fort Las Cruces, NM m 24  
45 Christina Krueger El Paso, TX m 26  
46 Michael Hinojosa Las Cruces, NM m 27  
47 Krista Casaus Roswell, NM m 30 $5
48 Seth Jaramillo Bernalillo, NM m 34  
49 Alexis Bourjaily El Paso, TX m 34  
50 Andrew Esparza El Paso, TX m 54  
51 Leo Guzman El Paso, TX m 55  
52 Peter Cane Albuquerque, NM m 72  
53 Kelsey Jones Roswell, NM m 125  
 Ball Winner: Dakota Corbell