champs Christian Jensen & Guy Prewitt

Christian Jensen remained red-hot, while Guy Prewitt won for the first time, in exciting JBT Arizona Conference action at Glenfair Lanes.

One of the most demanding conditions of the year was laid out, testing bowler's spare games and versatility and providing a refreshing challenge to some recent strike-a-thons.  Shane Peck opened the scratch finals by doubling in the tenth frame for a 191-180 victory over Chris Weyrauch.  Peck remained hot in round two, coasting to a 219-172 win over Melissa Del Rio, who we were thrilled to have back in the finals after a long absence.  Marc Algeri then spared in the tenth for a 180-173 win over Peck to advance to the title match.

Christian Jensen, the top seed, is on a major-league tear on tour with two titles in the last month, and fired a brilliant 630 in the semis to grab the lead here.  However, the scores went down on the unrelenting pattern as the pressure went up.  In a true grindout, Jensen came up with the 174-168 win, good for the tenth title of his JBT career, joining only ten other bowlers to reach this great level.  He also has climbed right back into the heart of the Bowler of the Year race, which should really heat up this spring.

Kyle Karpovich, the 2006 Main Event champ, opened the handicap stepladder with a 232 game that defeated Shawn Peters (201) and last event's champ Matt Erb (152).   Natalie Mounier then beat Karpovich (193) and Cris Boyle (159), and then fired a 212 semifinal game, defeating Diandra Mack (191) and Kari Rogers (180) to reach the title match.

Mounier was looking to add a singles crown to her doubles title with Nick Powanda, but faced a tough task in beating top seed Guy Prewitt.  After a slow start, Guy found the roll he had been on all day, and cruised to a 228-205 victory and his first JBT title. 

97 bowlers competed in the event.   Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT Arizona Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Big thanks to Di Tormanen and everyone at Glenfair for their usual fantastic job hosting our event.  Over $2,200 in scholarships was awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Glenfair Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners
Arizona Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ $360
2 Marc Algeri Phoenix, AZ $100
3 Shane Peck Riverside, CA $60
4 Melissa Del Rio Tucson, AZ $50
5 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ $50
6 JR Monteith Orange, CA $30
7 Kevin Schoenfeld Phoenix, AZ $30
8 Tom Anderson Chandler, AZ  
9 DeShaun Jefferson Phoenix, AZ  
10 Eric Warren Phoenix, AZ $20
11 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ $135
12 Mike Cross Tucson, AZ $11
13 Bear Wiltfang Lake Havasu City, AZ $15
14 Miguel Lopez Peoria, AZ  
15 Mike Ingeman Phoenix, AZ  
16 Greg Garbera Glendale, AZ  
17 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ  
18 Justin White Phoenix, AZ  
19 Kris George Glendale, AZ $95
20 Eric Rubin Phoenix, AZ $30
21 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $30
22 Bryan Caldwell Phoenix, AZ  
23 Ernest Cook Phoenix, AZ  
24 Emily Ornelas Phoenix, AZ  
25 Zach Simon Scottsdale, AZ  
26 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ  
27 Michael Aguilar Tucson, AZ  
28 Amanda Albani Phoenix, AZ  
29 Dan Bodinet Maricopa, AZ  
30 Jonathan Pletcher Chandler, AZ  
31 Bryanna Dawson Chandler, AZ  
32 David Johnston Glendale, AZ  
33 Elias Ewert Chandler, AZ  
34 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ  
35 Rane Lacona Chandler, AZ  
36 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Guy Prewitt Chandler, AZ $304
2 Natalie Mounier Phoenix, AZ $115
3 Diandra Mack Glendale, AZ $75
4 Kari Rogers Glendale, AZ $60
5 Kyle Karpovich Chandler, AZ $50
6 Cris Boyle Mesa, AZ $55
7 Shawn Peters Phoenix, AZ $35
8 Matt Erb Phoenix, AZ $39
9 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ  
10 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ $5
11 Anthony Gredinger Glendale, AZ  
12 Derek Gredinger Glendale, AZ  
13 Robert DePrater Glendale, AZ  
14 Jay Prewitt Chandler, AZ  
15 Brittany Riccelli Surprise, AZ $50
16 Daniel Cotton Glendale, AZ  
17 Taylor King Phoenix, AZ $145
18 Eric Vitzthum Glendale, AZ  
19 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ $45
20 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
21 Gino Salaverria Phoenix, AZ $50
22 Eric Demo San Diego, CA  
23 Sandy Truman Phoenix, AZ $15
24 CJ Crowley Gilbert, AZ $25
25 Taylor Knight Phoenix, AZ $30
26 David Price Safford, AZ $42
27 Bryce Techmer Chandler, AZ $15
28 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ $30
29 Cody Vanderweyst Glendale, AZ  
30 Pamela Perez Peoria, AZ  
31 Rachel Lynn Peoria, AZ  
32 Tyler Johnson Phoenix, AZ  
33 Austen Christensen Avondale, AZ  
34 Robert Atherton Glendale, AZ  
35 Dylan Taylor Scottsdale, AZ  
36 Daniel Sosa Peoria, AZ  
37 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ  
38 Emmanuel Durazo Phoenix, AZ  
39 Josh Martel Peoria, AZ  
40 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ  
41 Jordan Vanderweyst Glendale, AZ  
42 Chris Spinner Mesa, AZ  
43 Michael Kenny Prescott Valley, AZ  
44 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ  
45 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ $30
46 Rebecca Bodinet Maricopa, AZ  
47 Blake Kalaf Chandler, AZ  
48 Andrew Esparza El Paso, TX  
49 Nicki Nunez Peoria, AZ  
50 Kyle Vitzthum Glendale, AZ  
51 Brandon Longo Chandler, AZ  
52 Kyle Hansen Phoenix, AZ  
53 Anthony Tripi Avondale, AZ  
54 Kyle Klein Peoria, AZ  
55 Joey Longo Chandler, AZ  
56 Dillon Brand Phoenix, AZ  
57 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ  
58 Holly Emery Queen Creek, AZ  
59 James Hawkins Jr Anaheim, CA $20
60 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ  
61 Greg Shoaf Chandler, AZ  
 Ball Winner: Randy Cote