champs Bobby Majdanski & Logan Kennedy

Veteran JBT bowlers Bobby Majdanski and Logan Kennedy broke through for their first JBT titles in exciting JBT Survivor Format action at Gold Coast Lanes.

After the first five games, in Survivor an equal number of bowlers are put on each pair, with the lowest score eliminated from each pair, each game, until only one Survivor remains.  Shane Peck dominated the scratch division qualifying, averaging nearly 257 for the first four games, but couldn't keep the momentum going, and was eliminated in round two.  In semifinal matches, Majdanski ended Alyssa Madrid's great run 236-189, while Cayson Coyle ended Cameron Smith's fine day 224-205, setting up the title match.

Majdanski has been close to victory before, but left no doubt this time, as he tossed 10 strikes in a 278-198 triumph over Coyle, finally breaking into the JBT singles winner's circle.

In the handicap division, 16 semifinalists were whittled down to four, and the top qualifiers did better than they often do in this format, with the top 3 qualifiers all reaching the semifinals.  In the semis, top seed Mike May defeated Josh Chefalo 238-204, while #14 qualifier Logan Kennedy defeated #3 Taylor McKenrick, 243-168, setting up a rematch of the Suncoast title match earlier this season.

The title match featured lots of strikes by two bowlers very familiar with this situation by now.  This time though, a determined Kennedy was not to be stopped, and he came up with a huge 283-241 victory for a long-awaited first career JBT title.

62 bowlers competed in the event, so we hope everyone who attended had a great time, and will spread the word about the great benefits of bowling JBT.   Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT Mojave Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Big thanks to everyone at Gold Coast for their usual terrific job hosting our events.  Over $1,600 in scholarships were awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Gold Coast- final results and optional scholarship winners
Mojave Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Bobby Majdanski Las Vegas, NV $200
2 Cayson Coyle Las Vegas, NV $135
3 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $85
4 Alyssa Madrid Las Vegas, NV $40
5 Brandon Watts Lake Havasu City, AZ $103
6 JR Monteith Orange, CA  
7 Jeff Mathews Las Vegas, NV  
8 Jordan Ferrer Henderson, NV  
9 Shane Peck Riverside, CA $275
10 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ $43
11 Andy Reynoso Las Vegas, NV  
12 April Urban Henderson, NV  
13 Kalani Diliner Las Vegas, NV  
14 Stephen Ashley Las Vegas, NV  
15 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA $15
16 Forrest Holland Escondido, CA  
17 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV  
18 Nathan Panaligan N. Las Vegas, NV  
19 Brandon Allred Las Vegas, NV  
20 Chris Kagawa Las Vegas, NV  
21 Kris George Glendale, AZ  
22 Eddie Schaub Las Vegas, NV $15
23 Matt McHann Las Vegas, NV  
24 Paolo Castro Las Vegas, NV  
25 Ryan Yadao Las Vegas, NV  
26 Joe Claspell Lake Havasu City, AZ  
27 David Beisswenger Las Vegas, NV  
28 Adam Reynoso Las Vegas, NV  
29 Hannah Chipman Las Vegas, NV  
30 Kris Del Campo Las Vegas, NV  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Logan Kennedy Las Vegas, NV $215
2 Mike May San Diego, CA $185
3 Josh Chefalo Las Vegas, NV $120
4 Taylor McKenrick Henderson, NV $60
5 Bryce Gross Las Vegas, NV $20
6 Ricky Overton Las Vegas, NV  
7 Zach Hattori Las Vegas, NV $5
8 Melissa Huether Las Vegas, NV $20
9 Casey Rosenberg Las Vegas, NV $20
10 Sarah Ansteth Las Vegas, NV  
11 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ  
12 Brian Grupe Las Vegas, NV $20
13 Alesha Pannier Lake Havasu City, AZ $10
14 Paul Huether Las Vegas, NV $40
15 James Hawkins Jr. Anaheim, CA  
16 Tyler Szelinski Henderson, NV  
17 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ  
18 Donovan Koff Las Vegas, NV  
19 Kyle Akers Kingman, AZ  
20 Cameron Peck Riverside, CA $15
21 Sasha Black Fort Mohave, AZ  
22 Joshua Ferrer Henderson, NV  
23 Brandon Dauphinais Henderson, NV  
24 Sean Huggins Las Vegas, NV $15
25 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ  
26 Brandon Surko Las Vegas, NV  
27 Jacob Abstender Las Vegas, NV  
28 Aaron Szelinski Henderson, NV  
29 Justin Claspell Lake Havasu City, AZ  
30 Josh Melnick Las Vegas, NV  
31 Shani Snowden Las Vegas, NV  
32 Dacrie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
Cuts: scratch +45; handicap +28    
Ebonite Ball Winner: Forrest Holland