champs Christian Jensen & Matt Erb

Christian Jensen captured his second consectutive Arizona Conference title, while Matt Erb captured his second ever win, in exciting JBT action at Green Valley Lanes.

Scores were exceedingly high all day, highlighted by a 300 from Greg Shoaf in qualifying, and Shane Peck’s 299 in the seminfinals.  Top scratch qualifier BJ Baker stayed red-hot all day en route to a +450 8-game total, the 5th highest in JBT history.

Greg Garbera doubled in the tenth frame of the first round of the scratch stepladder for a 193-191 win over Peck.  Garbera then went spare, next-eleven for a 290-211 win over Kevin Saunders, before Jensen stopped him 224-210 to reach the finale.

The battle between these two veterans was close throughout, but it was spares, not strikes, that determined the outcome.  Christian missed a 7-pin in the sixth frame to hand BJ the lead, but BJ returned the favor by missing a 7-pin of his own in the ninth, giving Jensen the room he needed for a 235-214 victory, the ninth of his JBT career. 

Bobby Gil, with a 77 league average, once again proved that JBT events are for any age and any average by winning round one of the handicap finals 214-212 over Tim Ribbeck.  Gil then got by Justin Givler 229-197, before rolling his high game of the day in a 276-163 defeat of Erica Lockhart to reach the title match.

Top seed Matt Erb had put on a clinic in the semifinals, coming the closest of all bowlers to the $1,000 bonus available for anyone rolling 800 in three consecutive games (790), en route to by far his best 8-game performance, +410.  Erb seemed to be less intimidated by the huge handicap difference he had to make up (87 pins), and he continued his strike barrage with a 267-200 win, good for his second career JBT win.

Kyle King and Kris George both came oh-so-close to hitting the $2,007 PowerBowl jackpot, each getting to the last shot, getting a $50 consolation scholarship for their efforts.

75 bowlers competed in the event.   Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT Arizona Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Big thanks to Bill O'Rourke and everyone at Green Valley Lanes for a terrific job hosting a JBT event for the first time since 2000.  Over $2,100 in scholarships was awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Green Valley Lanes- final results and optional scholarship winners  
Arizona Conference      
Scratch Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ p 287 $323
2 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ p 450 $350
3 Greg Garbera Tempe, AZ p 239 $105
4 Kevin Saunders Goodyear, AZ p 287 $110
5 Shane Peck Riverside, CA p 274 $75
6 Lana Lycan San Diego, CA p 215 $20
7 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ p 212 $20
8 Miguel Lopez Peoria, AZ p 184 $15
9 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ p 178  
10 JR Monteith Orange, CA p 176  
11 Will McPherson Phoenix, AZ p 171 $45
12 Bryanna Dawson Chandler, AZ p 170  
13 Eric Rubin Phoenix, AZ p 156 $28
14 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ p 144  
15 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ p 126 $95
16 Dan Delano Phoenix, AZ p 110  
17 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA p 34  
18 Mike Aguilar Tucson, AZ m 51  
19 Justin White Phoenix, AZ p 4 $15
20 Kris George Glendale, AZ p 3 $80
21 Forrest Holland Escondido, CA m 4  
22 Tim Burns Coram, NY m 5  
23 Chris McHenry Tucson, AZ m 6  
24 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ m 6 $15
25 David Johnston Glendale, AZ m 51  
26 Melissa Del Rio Tucson, AZ m 60  
27 Chris Davenport Tucson, AZ m 63  
28 Kevin Schoenfeld Phoenix, AZ m 77  
29 Mike Ingeman Phoenix, AZ m 84  
30 Chris Varholdt Chandler, AZ m 93  
31 Ernest Cook Phoenix, AZ m 100  
32 Tera Bolton Tucson, AZ m 118  
33 Mike Kremer Peoria, AZ m 128  
Handicap Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Matt Erb Phoenix, AZ p 410 $200
2 Bobby Gil Green Valley, AZ p 228 $100
3 Eric Lockhart Tucson, AZ p 268 $60
4 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ p 258 $40
5 Tim Ribbeck Green Valley, AZ p 231 $110
6 Mike May San Diego, CA p 208 $121
7 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ p 196  
8 Justin Newkirk Tucson, AZ p 187  
9 Bryce Techmer Tempe, AZ p 183  
10 Sam Aguilar Tucson, AZ p 178  
11 Taylor Knight Phoenix, AZ p 177 $15
12 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ p 166 $15
13 Anthony Tripi Avondale, AZ p 150 $15
14 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ p 147 $110
15 Daniel Koenigslieb Green Valley, AZ p 131  
16 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ p 124 $30
17 Eric Vitzthum Glendale, AZ p 111  
18 Michael Srncik Green Valley, AZ p 110  
19 Kyle Vitzthum Glendale, AZ p 101  
20 David Price Safford, AZ p 95  
21 Kyle Klein Phoenix, AZ p 85 $30
22 Greg Shoaf Phoenix, AZ p 68 $30
23 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ p 67  
24 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ p 60  
25 Jacob Smith Tucson, AZ p 53  
26 Aaron Bennett Tucson, AZ p 45  
27 Cris Boyle Mesa, AZ p 43  
28 Holly Emery Gilbert, AZ p 43  
29 Dillon Brand Phoenix, AZ p 38  
30 Taylor King Phoenix, AZ p 34 $15
31 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ p 26 $30
32 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ p 25  
33 Daniel Cotten Glendale, AZ p 19  
34 Rebecca Bodinet Phoenix, AZ m 2  
35 Joey Longo Phoenix, AZ m 3  
36 Dylan Taylor Scottsdale, AZ m 9  
37 Matt Aguilar Tucson, AZ m 9  
38 Logan Bennett Tucson, AZ m 23  
39 Jay Prewitt Chandler, AZ m 40  
40 William Cornett Sahuarita, AZ m 67  
41 Brandon Longo Chandler, AZ m 85  
42 Shawn Peters Tucson, AZ m 88  
 Ball Winner: Bill O'Rourke      
Impact Challenge Winner: Joshua Shoup