champs BJ Baker & Kyle Akers

21 was BJ Baker's lucky number in Vegas this week, while "1" worked just fine for Kyle Akers, in exciting JBT Mojave Conference action at Sam's Town.

The scratch division used the exciting Survivor format, where semifinalists roll low-score-out matches until only one person stands.  A ridiculously high-scoring condition made any score vulnerable.  The field was thusly whittled down to eight.  In those matches, red-hot Jordan Ferrer (who rolled 300 the day before and 299 in qualifying) defeated Kris George 192-182, Cayson Coyle got by Kyle King 199-178, BJ Baker eliminated points leader JR Monteith 213-199, and Brandon Allred defeated Justin Spurrier 258-226.

In the semifinals, Coyle ousted Allred 247-194, while Baker defeated Ferrer 204-161, setting up the finale.  

Baker, the previous day's winner in San Diego, was looking to pull off the extremely rare feat of winning twice in one weekend, only achieved five times before in JBT history.  A refocused BJ was more than up to the task, whipping Coyle 249-168 for the win.  The victory was the 21st title of his JBT career, what better place than Vegas to snag that one?

In round one of the handicap finals, a boyfriend-girlfriend battle took place (no, no- on the lanes), as Ricky Overton defeated Taylor McKenrick 229-217.  Taylor Ray then took care of Overton 228-181.  Akers then beat Ray 205-181 to reach the title match for the first time.

Top qualifier Sean Huggins continues to quietly improve in JBT action, and averaged well over 200 on the day to nab the top seed. However, he struggled in the finale, and Akers, who was having his best JBT ever, came through for a 195-135 victory, the fist title of his JBT career.

 76 bowlers competed in the event, so we hope everyone who attended had a great time, and will spread the word about the great benefits of bowling JBT.   Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT Mojave Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Big thanks to everyone at Sam's Town for hosting our event.  Over $2,000 in scholarships were awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Sam's Town- final results and optional scholarship winners  
Mojave Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ $280
2 Cayson Coyle Las Vegas, NV $235
3 Jordan Ferrer Henderson, NV $60
4 Brandon Allred Las Vegas, NV $50
5 Justin Spurrier Las Vegas, NV $35
6 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $50
7 Kris George Glendale, AZ $85
8 JR Monteith Orange, CA  
9 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $70
10 Nathan Panaligan N. Las Vegas, NV $55
11 Bobby Majdanski Las Vegas, NV $15
12 Chris Kagawa Las Vegas, NV  
13 Andy Reynoso Las Vegas, NV $85
14 Brandon Watts Lake Havasu City, AZ  
15 Kalani Dilliner Las Vegas, NV  
16 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV  
17 Lana Lycan San Diego, CA  
18 Shane Peck Riverside, CA $15
19 Jeff Mathews Las Vegas, NV $45
20 Forrest Holland Escondido, CA  
21 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ  
22 Kary Nguyen Las Vegas, NV  
23 Joe Claspell Lake Havasu City, AZ
24 Adam Reynoso Las Vegas, NV  
25 Paolo Castro Las Vegas, NV  
26 David Beisswenger Las Vegas, NV  
27 April Urban Henderson, NV $15
28 Jordan Ono Pearl City, HI  
29 Ryan Yadao Las Vegas, NV  
30 Alyssa Madrid Las Vegas, NV  
31 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ  
32 Kris Del Campo Las Vegas, NV  
33 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA  
34 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA  
35 Sean Khureya Las Vegas, NV $15
36 Jordan Katz Las Vegas, NV  
37 Chris Kutcher Las Vegas, NV  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Kyle Akers Kingman, AZ $380
2 Sean Huggins Las Vegas, NV $155
3 Taylor Ray Las Vegas, NV $60
4 Ricky Overton Las Vegas, NV $40
5 Taylor McKenrick Henderson, NV $30
6 Paul Huether Las Vegas, NV $20
7 Troy Graydon Las Vegas, NV  
8 Keaton Karpovich Chandler, AZ $45
9 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA $5
10 Kyle Bridgman Kingman, AZ $75
11 James Hawkins Anaheim, CA $5
12 Zach Hattori Las Vegas, NV  
13 Taylor King Phoenix, AZ  
14 Mike May San Diego, CA  
15 Melissa Huether Las Vegas, NV  
16 Greg Shoaf Chandler, AZ $15
17 Kevin Foss Pahrump, NV  
18 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ  
19 Logan Kennedy Henderson, NV  
20 Teofisto Cipriaso Las Vegas, NV $15
21 Kristin Cathcart Ft Mohave, AZ  
22 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
23 Sean Caliebe Ft Mohave, AZ  
24 Justin Claspell Lake Havasu City, AZ  
25 Alesha Pannier Lake Havasu City, AZ $15
26 David Opdyke Las Vegas, NV  
27 Cris Boyle Mesa, AZ  
28 Sarah Ansteth Las Vegas, NV  
29 Donovan Koff Las Vegas, NV  
30 Joshua Shoup Tolleson, AZ  
31 Sasha Black Ft Mohave, AZ $15
32 Brandon Owen Las Vegas, NV  
33 Bryce Gross Las Vegas, NV  
34 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ  
35 Taylor Aldridge Las Vegas, NV  
36 Brian Grupe Las Vegas, NV  
37 Kyle Karpovich Chandler, AZ  
38 Tim Johnson Las Vegas, NV  
39 Casey Bybee Las Vegas, NV  
 Ball Winner: Bethany Baker