champs JR Monteith & Rachelle Davis

JR Monteith and Rachelle Davis captured titles in exciting JBT Arizona Conference action at AMF Shea Village.

Both divisions used our sudden-death Survivor format, where after qualifying an even number of people are put on each pair, with the low score on each pair eliminated from the tournament the rest of the way. 

Eventually the scratch division got down to the final eight, creating head-to-head matches.  In that round, Dan Bodinet defeated BJ Baker, who still continues his huge run, 206-178; Kris George ousted Kevin Narciso (who also fired the event's only 300 game in the qualifying portion) 206-194, Matt Jones eliminated Brian Weyrauch 212-165, while Christian Jensen was the tough-luck bowler of the round, firing a big 236 but losing to Monteith's 254.

In the semifinal rounds, Jones got past Bodinet 244-213, while Monteith ousted George 259-191, to set up an all-Californian title match.

JR was looking to increase his All-Conference point lead with the win, while travel companion Jones was looking to break through for his first win.  Matt rolled a beautiful 246, which he probably though would have been enough, but Monteith was getting sharper and sharper all day, and countered Jones' fine effort with a 255 for the win, the 5th of his career.

Thirty handicap survivors were chopped down to the final six after five rounds.  In the next round, Daniel Cotten defeated Kyle Klein 234-191, Sandy Truman eliminated Joey Longo 190-147, while in a strikefest, Mike Kenny defeated Rachelle Davis 293-238.  Fortunately for Davis that left an odd number of survivors, so she still advanced as the high losing score.  

In semifinal matches, Davis ousted Cotten 207-193, and Kenny edged Truman 202-198, to set up a rematch for the title.

This time, the tables were turned, as it was Rachelle who stayed in control the whole way, cruising to a 234-188 win, the fourth title of her JBT career.  

107 bowlers competed in the event.   Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT Arizona Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

Big thanks to Shea for hosting our events every year.  Over $2,600 in scholarships was awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

AMF Shea Village- final results and optional scholarship winners
Arizona Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 JR Monteith Orange, CA $425
2 Matt Jones Canoga Park, CA $155
3 Kris George Glendale, AZ $140
4 Dan Bodinet Maricopa, AZ $70
5 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ $115
6 Kevin Narciso Phoenix, AZ $60
7 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ $60
8 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ $21
9 Kevin Saunders Goodyear, AZ $154
10 Kevin Cummings Glendale, AZ  
11 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $15
12 Marc Algeri Phoenix, AZ  
13 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ $15
14 Miguel Lopez Peoria, AZ $45
15 Chris McHenry Tucson, AZ  
16 David Johnston Glendale, AZ  
17 Kevin Schoenfeld Phoenix, AZ $90
18 Greg Geering Phoenix, AZ $14
19 Tom Anderson Chandler, AZ  
20 Justin White Phoenix, AZ  
21 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ $15
22 Bear Wiltfang Tempe, AZ  
23 Elias Ewert Chandler, AZ  
24 Bryan Caldwell Glendale, AZ  
25 Joseph Anderson Avondale, AZ  
26 Melissa Del Rio Tucson, AZ  
27 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ  
28 Mike Cross Tucson, AZ  
29 DeShaun Jefferson Phoenix, AZ  
30 Greg Garbera Tempe, AZ  
31 Marc Burris Tucson, AZ  
32 Nick Powanda San Diego, CA  
33 Will McPherson Chandler, AZ  
34 Lana Lycan Santee, CA  
35 Labriel Leach Tucson, AZ  
36 Chris Varholdt Chandler, AZ  
37 Eric Rubin Phoenix, AZ  
38 Bryanna Dawson Chandler, AZ  
39 Bill Grant Rio Rancho, NM  
40 Amanda Albani Phoenix, AZ  
41 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ  
42 Mike Ingeman Tempe, AZ  
43 Mike Aguilar Tucson, AZ  
44 Jonathan Pletcher Chandler, AZ  
45 Shane Peck Riverside, CA  
46 Mike Kremer Peoria, AZ  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ $245
2 Mike Kenny Prescott Valley, AZ $115
3 Daniel Cotten Glendale, AZ $195
4 Sandy Truman Phoenix, AZ $75
5 Kyle Klein Peoria, AZ $50
6 Joey Longo Phoenix, AZ $40
7 Guy Prewitt Chandler, AZ $110
8 Kayla Goad Phoenix, AZ $20
9 Robert DePrater Phoenix, AZ $11
10 Taylor Knight Phoenix, AZ $26
11 James Hawkins Jr. Anaheim, CA $11
12 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ $11
13 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ $40
14 Josh Ebert Prescott Valley, AZ $75
15 Kyle Vitzthum Glendale, AZ  
16 Kyle Hansen Peoria, AZ $45
17 Dillon Brand Peoria, AZ  
18 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ $10
19 Alicia Sullivan Kingman, AZ $90
20 Rebecca Bodinet Maricopa, AZ  
21 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ  
22 Matt Erb Phoenix, AZ  
23 Dylan Taylor Scottsdale, AZ $15
24 Kyle Gandy Phoenix, AZ  
25 Rachel Lynn Peoria, AZ $30
26 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ  
27 Eric Vitzthum Glendale, AZ  
28 Holly Emery Mesa, AZ  
29 Cody Taylor Phoenix, AZ  
30 Mike May San Diego, CA  
31 Bryce Techmer Chandler, AZ  
32 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ $15
33 Jeff Goad Phoenix, AZ  
34 Andy Garriott Scottsdale, AZ  
35 Steven Pizzi Avondale, AZ  
36 Joshua Shoup Tolleson, AZ  
37 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ  
38 Pamela Perez Peoria, AZ  
39 Gino Salaverria Phoenix, AZ $20
40 Blake Kalaf Chandler, AZ  
41 Kyle Karpovich Chandler, AZ  
42 Cris Boyle Mesa, AZ  
43 Greg Shoaf Chandler, AZ  
44 Riley Dempsey Phoenix, AZ  
45 Brandon Longo Chandler, AZ  
46 CJ Crowley Mesa, AZ $10
47 Mathew Tompkins Phoenix, AZ  
48 Smantha Aguilar Tucson, AZ  
49 Anthony Tripi Avondale, AZ  
50 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ  
51 Joshua Elstun Phoenix, AZ  
52 Brittany Riccelli Surprise, AZ  
53 Jacob Smith Tucson, AZ  
54 Jay Prewitt Chandler, AZ  
55 Andrew Mouradian Phoenix, AZ  
56 Barbara Lampkin Tucson, AZ  
 Ball Winner: Matt Jones    


story and results soon!