champs Jeremy Medina & Debbie Read

Debbie Read and Jeremy Medina captured titles in exciting JBT New Mexico-Texas Conference action in Silver City.

The scratch division bowlers tore up the lanes with lots of strikes all day, and the assistance of our ‘mulligan’ format, which allowed bowlers to earn crucial ‘do-overs’, resulting in a score of +305 needed just to make the finals.  Dan Bodinet, who has been red-hot lately, continued the streak with a 226-214 win over Mike Cross in round one.  Medina then stopped Bodinet 221-197, then got extremely lucky to get by BJ Baker, 257-246, when BJ failed to strike in the tenth despite three chances thanks to the mulligans.

Top qualifier Stephen Gaucin hardly needed any extra help scoring, as he torched the lanes all day long to easily nab the top seed.   However, it was Stephen who had the carry problems in the title match, while Medina, who combined with his brother Justin has an ugly record against Stephen (and JBT alumni George), threw the ball great en route to a 227-203 win, good for his 4th career JBT title.

Peter Cane opened the handicap division stepladder with a 217-213 win over Skylar Miller.  Cane then rolled on with a 221-193 win over Jonathan Frederick, before Debbie Read stopped Cane, 209-201, to reach he first title match.

Top seed Sam Zermeno was having his best tournament in his JBT career, but struggled early in the title match, and Read took advantage for a 222-184 win and her first career JBT victory, joining her brother William as JBT champs in their first season bowling our events.

 Everyone who finished in the top 5 qualifies for the 2007 JBT NM-TX Invitational Tournament, the regular season's year end event, featuring a guaranteed minimum $1,000 first place scholarship in each division.  Top season-long point scorers also qualify for the 2007 JBT Touring Players' Championship, featuring a guaranteed minimum $2,000 first place scholarship per division! 

 Big thanks to everyone at Silver for a great job hosting our events.  Over $1,700 in scholarships was awarded to a 56 player field!

Silver Bowling Center- final results and optional scholarship winners
NM-TX Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Jeremy Medina Santa Fe, NM $300
2 Stephen Gaucin El Paso, TX $130
3 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ $179
4 Dan Bodinet Maricopa, AZ $50
5 Mike Cross Tucson, AZ $39
6 Bill Grant Rio Rancho, NM $15
7 Kris George Glendale, AZ  
8 BJ Eichensehr El Paso, TX  
9 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ $30
10 Andy Byer Albuquerque, NM $15
11 Justin Medina Santa Fe, NM $72
12 Nathan Shock Thornton, CO $15
13 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA  
14 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ  
15 Dan Romero Santa Fe, NM  
16 William Entsminger El Paso, TX  
17 Josh Brown Albuquerque, NM  
18 Labriel Leach Tucson, AZ  
19 Matt Erb Phoenix, AZ  
20 Paul Carper Rio Rancho, NM $10
21 Jerod Florez Bosque Farms, NM $12
22 Michelle Snyder Alamogordo, NM  
23 Steph Merrell Albuquerque, NM  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Debbie Read Albuquerque, NM $350
2 Sam Zermeno El Paso, TX $154
3 Peter Cane Albuquerque, NM $75
4 Jonathan Frederick El Paso, TX $55
5 Skylar Miller Silver City, NM $44
6 Ryan Scheer Rio Rancho, NM $15
7 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ $45
8 John Freeman Silver City, NM $15
9 Amanda Lathan Silver City, NM  
10 Jamar McDaniel Albuquerque, NM $45
11 Debbie Jarzemba Santa Fe, NM  
12 LJ Mathews Las Cruces, NM  
13 Nick Hernandez Silver City, NM  
14 RJ Bellman Albuquerque, NM  
15 Rebecca Bodinet Maricopa, AZ  
16 Megan McClean Silver City, NM $15
17 Mike Romero Santa Fe, NM  
18 Ramona Allen Silver City, NM  
19 Kayla Goodwin Bayard, NM  
20 Brittany Allen Silver City, NM  
21 Wendy Shelton Albuquerque, NM  
22 Tevynn Laws Albuquerque, NM  
23 William Read Albuquerque, NM  
24 Shawna Bellman Albuquerque, NM  
25 Nathan Hughes San Jose, NM  
26 Blake Brown Albuquerque, NM  
27 Austin Yearwood Las Cruces, NM  
28 Ashley Olriksen Albuquerque, NM  
29 Stephanie Barela Santa Fe, NM  
30 Diego Lucero Santa Fe, NM  
31 Janeyl Carper Rio Rancho, NM  
32 Amanda Jarzemba Santa Fe, NM  
33 Taylor Cruz Santa Fe, NM  
 Ball Winner: Tami Cole