champs Theo Douthit & Jordan Hastings

Theo Douthit survived the nervewracker, while Jordan Hastings captured his first career title, in exciting JBT Mojave Conference action at South Point Bowling Center.

Dylan Lucas opened up his first handicap division stepladder finals with a 166-156 win over Aaron Watkins in round one.  Hastings then came on to defeat Lucas 185-152, and he followed with a 191-170 win over Aaron's brother Andrew Watkins, to reach the title match.

Top seed Chase Nadeau had put on a great show all day in an event filled with strikes for everyone, but it was bad carry on the right lane that did him in in the finale, with Hastings throwing a clean game to emerge victorious 215-189 for his first JBT title.

JR Monteith averaged over 240 in qualifying to get the top seed for the round of 16 nervewracker format, but drew a tough match in April Urban, who threw 248-247 against JR's 235-259 to tie at 1-1 and force the one shot nervewracker, which Monteith won 10-9 to advance.  #2 Cameron Smith also advanced, but other top seeds didn't fare so well, as #3 Kyle King (thanks to a great 298 from Brain Ballard), #4 Jordan Ferrer, and #5 Adam Reynoso were all first round victims.

In round of 8 action, #10 Douthit outlasted Smith in the longest nerveracker of the day, four shots, going 10-9 in the 4th.  Other matches saw Monteith beat #9 Ken McElvaney, the "mayor of strike-town" (sheeesh), #6 Shawn Hrisca beat #13 Cory Keraly, and #12 Kayln Washburn ousting #14 Ballard.

In the semifinals, Douthit squeezed by Washburn in two tight games, while Monteith escaped via his third straight nervewracker, this time over Hrisca, to set up the title match.

JR won game one of the finals, forcing Theo to win game two, forcing a nervewracker for the title.  JR, who had lost his carry in game two, only got 7 on his first shot, and that was good news for Theo as it turned out, as he left a 6-8, but 8 was enough for the win, the 13th of his JBT career.

Big thanks to Mike Monyak and the whole crew at South Point for always doing a great job hosting us.  Over $1,400 in scholarships were awarded to bowlers of all ages and averages... want in on the fun?  Come on down to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

South Point- final results and optional scholarship winners  
Mojave Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ $300
2 JR Monteith Orange, CA $155
3 Shawn Hrisca Las Vegas, NV $60
4 Kalyn Washburn Tucson, AZ  
5 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $112
6 Ken McElvaney Chatsworth, CA $30
7 Cory Keraly Las Vegas, NV $13
8 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA  
9 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $223
10 Jordan Ferrer Henderson, NV  
11 Andy Reynoso Las Vegas, NV  
12 Jordan Katz Las Vegas, NV  
13 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV  
14 Alyssa Madrid Las Vegas, NV  
15 Nick Lamek Las Vegas, NV  
16 April Urban Henderson, NV  
17 Mikey May San Diego, CA  
18 Matt Jones Winnetka, CA $5
19 Matt McHann Las Vegas, NV $15
20 Tom Barbee Las Vegas, NV  
21 Brandon Watts Lake Havasu City, AZ  
22 James Hawkins Quail Valley, CA  
23 Logan Kennedy Las Vegas, NV  
24 Alex Katz Las Vegas, NV  
25 Lana Lycan Santee, CA  
26 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ  
27 Joshua Ferrer Henderson, NV  
28 Chris Kutcher Las Vegas, NV  
29 Greg Geering Phoenix, AZ  
30 Martika Cabezas Thousand Palms, CA  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Jordan Hastings Prescott Valley, AZ $15
2 Chase Nadeau Las Vegas, NV $200
3 Andrew Watkins Las Vegas, NV $118
4 Dylan Lucas Las Vegas, NV $60
5 Aaron Watkins Las Vegas, NV $70
6 Skyler McGowan Las Vegas, NV $30
7 Zak Lucas Las Vegas, NV  
8 Eric Hatchett Las Vegas, NV $5
9 Alesha Pannier Lake Havasu City, AZ $15
10 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ  
11 Jonathan Kozich Las Vegas, NV $25
12 Brian Grupe Las Vegas, NV $30
13 Andrew Kellogg Las Vegas, NV $15
14 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ $26
15 Teo Cipriaso Las Vegas, NV  
16 Brandon Owen Las Vegas, NV  
17 Tracy Cordell Kingman, AZ  
18 Dericka Badilla Kingman, AZ  
19 Jackie Southam Las Vegas, NV  
20 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA  
21 Austin Signoretti Las Vegas, NV  
22 Joseph Sorce Las Vegas, NV $15
23 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
24 Josh Chefalo Las Vegas, NV $15
25 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ $25
26 Rachel Csanyi Las Vegas, NV  
27 Douglas Csanyi Las Vegas, NV  
28 Kyle Akers Kingman, AZ  
29 Josh Ebert Prescott Valley, AZ  
30 Krysta Nadeau Las Vegas, NV  
31 Ian Hanuscin Las Vegas, NV  
32 James Gabour Las Vegas, NV  
 Ball Winner: Chris Kutcher