SHAKE, RATTLE, and BOWL at Cliff Castle Casino

champs Kyle King and Tim Keegan

     Kyle King continued his early season dominance, while Tim Keegan tasted victory for the first time, in season-opening JBT Arizona Conference action at Cliff Castle Casino's Shake Rattle and Bowl.

    Cameron Smith, who has bowled well at Cliff Castle in the past, opened the scratch division stepladder finals with a 218-193 win over fellow Californian Brian Ballard.  Smith and 15-time JBT champ Kris George then engaged in a classic battle, with Smith striking out in the tenth for a 247-246 win over Kris.  Cameron had an easier time in the semifinals, defeating first-time scratch finalist Tyler Shipman 245-180, to advance to the title match.

   Top seed Kyle King opened the event with a 300 game, the only one of the season thus far, and after early leader Randy Cote stumbled in the semifinals, coasted to the top seed.  However, he found himself in a battle with the always-tough Smith.  In the end, though, his tenth frame spare was good for a 212-205 win, and the 18th title of his JBT career.

   Dylan Taylor opened up the 8-person handicap finals with a 226 game, beating Joey Sorce (218) and Travis Johnson (152).  Keegan then took over, rolling 216 to win round two over Savannah Carr (204) and Taylor (187).  In the semifinal, Keegan exploded with 275 to oust Kathleen Hastings (172) and Taylor Knight (181) to reach the title match.

  Top seed Alex Holbrook had put on an impressive performance all day long to nab the top spot, but struggled a bit in the title match.  Fortunately for Alex, so did Tim, and the result was a nailbiter that went down to the final shot.  Needing a strike to win, Keegan got nine, tying the match at 192, setting up a two-frame rolloff- the second already in 3 JBT events this season!   In the rolloff, Tim escaped 44-31 for the title, the first of his JBT career.

  Gino Salaverria and Deven Johnston picked up $50 scholarships each as lucky winners of the Impact Challenge Bonus.  Visit them at Impact Bowling Pro Shop, 99th Ave and Bell in NW Phoenix.  Huge thanks to everyone at Cliff Castle for always being great hosts for our Tour.  $2,415 in scholarships was awarded to the 94 player field- want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's a simple as that!

Cliff Castle (Sat.)- final results and optional scholarship winners
Arizona Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $460
2 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $115
3 Tyler Shipman Gilbert, AZ $60
4 Kris George Las Vegas, NV $105
5 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA $50
6 Greg Garbera Tempe, AZ $75
7 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ $80
8 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ $20
9 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ  
10 Gino Salaverria Phoenix, AZ $65
11 Allie Ijams Flagstaff, AZ $30
12 Miguel Lopez Peoria, AZ  
13 Mike Armstrong Tucson, AZ $30
14 James Hawkins Jr Quail Valley, CA $45
15 Marc Burris Tucson, AZ  
16 Anthony Tripi Avondale, AZ $15
17 Matt Cormack Woodland Hills, CA  
18 Amanda Vadnais Prescott, AZ  
19 Chris Varholdt Chandler, AZ $15
20 Andy Holick Tucson, AZ  
21 Eduardo Perez Peoria, AZ $30
22 Nathan Shock Thornton, CO  
23 David Johnston Peoria, AZ  
24 Tyson Lewis Peoria, AZ  
25 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ $15
26 Matt Herbert Prescott, AZ $15
27 CJ Lee Gilbert, AZ  
28 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ  
29 Michael Struble Scottsdale, AZ  
30 Jeffrey Williams Surprise, AZ  
31 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ  
32 Shawn Peters Glendale, AZ  
33 Tyler Brown Prescott, AZ  
34 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ  
35 Jacob Smith Tucson, AZ  
36 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA  
37 Kyle Karpovich Chandler, AZ  
38 Tiffany King Surprise, AZ $15
39 Jeff Weyrauch Tempe, AZ  
40 Martika Cabezas Palm Springs, CA  
41 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ  
42 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ  
43 Jared Billman Peoria, AZ  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Tim Keegan Arleta, CA $325
2 Alex Holbrook Flagstaff, AZ $125
3 Kathleen Hastings Prescott Valley, AZ $105
4 Taylor Knight Phoenix, AZ $75
5 Savannah Carr Goodyear, AZ $65
6 Dylan Taylor Scottsdale, AZ $55
7 Joey Sorce Chino Valley, AZ $60
8 Travis Johnson Peoria, AZ $20
9 Marina Stever Mesa, AZ $15
10 Deven Johnston Glendale, AZ $45
11 Sandy Truman Phoenix, AZ $5
12 Kristen Lee Tucson, AZ  
13 Nicholas Wade Mesa, AZ  
14 Nick Armstrong Tucson, AZ  
15 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ  
16 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ` $5
17 Taylor Coleman Scottsdale, AZ $15
18 Blake Kalaf Chandler, AZ $15
19 Amanda Ailport Phoenix, AZ  
20 Alex Pellegrino Queen Creek, AZ  
21 Mike Kenny Prescott Valley, AZ $15
22 Krystal Gray Tucson, AZ $15
23 Rachel Thompson Albuquerque, NM  
24 Jordan Hastings Prescott Valley, AZ  
25 Eric Demo San Diego, CA $75
26 Shannon Ryan Phoenix, AZ $15
27 Zac Sugahara Prescott, AZ  
28 Danny Varholdt Chandler, AZ $15
29 Gregg Kern Tucson, AZ $15
30 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
31 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ $15
32 Daniel Cotten Glendale, AZ  
33 Sam Zermeno EL Paso, TX  
34 Valry Swaim Phoenix, AZ  
35 Becki Meils Cave Creek, AZ  
36 William Witt Ft Huachuca, AZ  
37 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ  
38 Kaitlin Silva Canyon Country, CA  
39 Karissa Tafoya Chandler, AZ  
40 Alexis Atkin Glendale, AZ  
41 Cody Taylor Phoenix, AZ  
42 Bryant Wade Mesa, AZ  
43 Lindsey Ailport Phoenix, AZ  
44 Cris Boyle Mesa, AZ  
45 Benjamin Meils Cave Creek, AZ  
46 Kyle Chambers Chandler, AZ $15
47 Jay Prewitt Chandler, AZ  
48 Pamela Perez Peoria, AZ  
49 Terry Wade Mesa, AZ  
50 Sergio Toscano Phoenix, AZ  
51 Emilio Luna Phoenix, AZ  
Impact Challenge Winners: Gino Salaverria and Deven Johnston
Scratch High Games:    
  King 300    
  Cote 277    
Salaverria 275    
Hawkins 268    
Lopez 266    
Handicap High Games:    
Armstrong 279    
Demo 276    
Keegan 275    
Holbrook 264    
T. Johnson 263    
Coleman 263    
Round Leaders (5 pts. Each)    
Scratch Handicap  
1 King Kern  
2 King D. Taylor  
3 Cote K. Hastings  
4 King K. Hastings  
5 Cote K. Hastings  
6 King Holbrook  
7 King Holbrook  
8 King Holbrook  
High Female:    
David 1045    
Vadnais 1034    
Ijams 1002    
Lee 987    
Reguero 932