SHAKE, RATTLE, and BOWL at Cliff Castle Casino

champs Kyle King & Cody Taylor

      Kyle King made it two in a row at Shake Rattle and Bowl, while Cody Taylor made it two for his career, in exciting JBT Arizona Conference action at Cliff Castle Casino.

    Both divisions used our thrilling survivor format, with low-bowler-out matches after the usual top 50% cut.  Kris George put on a clinic in qualifying, averaging over 240 on a pattern so tricky that the cut was -136.  The 370+ pin gap betweenfirst and the cut is believed to be our largest ever.  Unfortunately for Kris, survivor can be vicious, and he was eliminated in his first match.  ,Eventually, the scratch field was whittled down to eight.  In those head to head matches, DJ Sloan beat Rebeca Reguero, Cameron Smith got past Courtney Dutton, Greg Garbera beat Randy Cote, and King beat Allie Ijams.

   In the semifinals, Sloan beat Smith 199-179 and King edged Garbera 201-184 to set up the championship match.  In that game Kyle, who had qualified second, was able to maintain control despite a great effort from Sloan, and King rolled to his 19th career JBT title, and 3rd in 4 events so far this season!

    The handicap division went from 24 semifinalists down to 8 survivors.  In those matches, Karissa Tafoya beat Dylan Taylor, Mike Kenny beat Ben Meils, Marina Stever beat defending champ Tim Keegan, and Cody Taylor beat Eric Demo.  Down to 4 survivors, Taylor edged Tafoya 172-166, and Stever walloped Kenny 253-204 to set up the title match.

    Stever was making her second title match within a month, having finished second at the Desert Open.  Despite a great effort, it was destined to be another runner-up finish for Marina, as Taylor bowled an excellent title match game to beat Stever 247-186 for his second career JBT title.

    April Urban and Amanda Ailport picked up $50 scholarships each as lucky winners of the Impact Challenge Bonus.  Visit them at Impact Bowling Pro Shop, 99th Ave and Bell in NW Phoenix.  Huge thanks to everyone at Cliff Castle for always being great hosts for our Tour.  $2,380 in scholarships was awarded to the 94 player field- want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's a simple as that!

Cliff Castle (Sun.)- final results and optional scholarship winners
Arizona Conference    
Scratch Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Kyle King Phoenix, AZ $425
2 DJ Sloan Las Vegas, NV $100
3 Cameron Smith Santee, CA $110
4 Greg Garbera Tempe, AZ $70
5 Randy Cote Tucson, AZ $60
6 Allie Ijams Flagstaff, AZ $70
7 Rebeca Reguero Phoenix, AZ $30
8 Courtney Dutton Chandler, AZ $20
9 Rachelle Davis Tucson, AZ $15
10 Chris Varholdt Chandler, AZ $60
11 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA  
12 Brian Weyrauch Tempe, AZ  
13 Kris George Las Vegas, NV $210
14 Nicholas Lee Tucson, AZ  
15 April Urban Henderson, NV $50
16 Chelsea Zemelka Phoenix, AZ  
17 Matt Cormack Woodland Hills, CA  
18 Tiffany King Surprise, AZ  
19 Mike Armstrong Tucson, AZ $5
20 Matt Herbert Prescott, AZ  
21 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA  
22 Martika Cabezas Palm Springs, CA  
23 Eduardo Perez Peoria, AZ  
24 Nathan Shock Thornton, CO  
25 Marc Burris Tucson, AZ  
26 Theo Douthit Phoenix, AZ $20
27 James Hawkins Quail Valley, CA  
28 Zach Herbert Prescott, AZ  
29 Alyssa Madrid  Las Vegas, NV  
30 Rane Lacona Phoenix, AZ  
31 Andy Holick Tucson, AZ  
32 Kyle Karpovich Chandler, AZ $5
33 Tyler Brown Prescott, AZ  
34 Tyler Shipman Gilbert,AZ  
35 Jeff Weyrauch Tempe, AZ  
36 Anthony Tripi Avondale,AZ  
37 Tyson Lewis Peoria, AZ  
38 Shawn Peters Glendale, AZ  
39 Jacob Smith Tucson, AZ  
40 Jeffrey Williams Surprise, AZ  
41 Matt Payne Phoenix, AZ  
42 David Johnston Peoria, AZ  
43 CJ Lee Gilbert,AZ  
44 Amanda Vadnais Prescott, AZ  
45 Gino Salaverria Peoria, AZ  
Handicap Division    
rank name city, state prize
1 Cody Taylor Phoenix, AZ $315
2 Marina Stever Mesa, AZ $100
3 Karissa Tafoya Chandler, AZ $70
4 Mike Kenny Prescott Valley, AZ $90
5 Eric Demo San Diego, CA $110
6 Ben Meils Cave Creek, AZ $80
7 Tim Keegan Arleta, CA $30
8 Dylan Taylor Scottsdale, AZ $35
9 Josh Shoup Tolleson, AZ  
10 Danielle Stewart Chandler, AZ  
11 Jewels Giordano Phoenix, AZ $75
12 Alex Pellegrino Queen Creek, AZ $15
13 Becki Meils Cave Creek, AZ  
14 Shannon Ryan Phoenix, AZ $15
15 Maura Swaim Phoenix, AZ  
16 Lindsey Ailport Phoenix, AZ  
17 Justin Givler Phoenix, AZ $10
18 Kaitlin Silva Canyon Country, CA  
19 Jay Prewitt Chandler, AZ  
20 Kayla Goad Phoenix, AZ  
21 Valry Swaim Phoenix, AZ  
22 Deven Johnston Glendale, AZ  
23 Savannah Carr Goodyear, AZ  
24 Darcie Staggs Bullhead City, AZ  
25 Blake Kalaf Chandler, AZ $15
26 Amanda Ailport Glendale, AZ $50
27 Emilio Luna Phoenix, AZ  
28 Jeff Goad Phoenix, AZ  
29 Danny Varholdt Chandler, AZ $15
30 Taylor King Phoenix, AZ  
31 Alexis Atkin Phoenix, AZ  
32 Daniel Cotten Glendale, AZ $15
33 Kyle Frederick Chandler, AZ  
34 Jared Billman Peoria, AZ  
35 Jacqui Gerchak Phoenix, AZ  
36 Zac Sugahara Prescott Valley, AZ  
37 Krystal Gray Tucson, AZ  
38 Travis Johnson Glendale, AZ  
39 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ $5
40 Sam Zermeno El Paso, TX  
41 Nick Armstrong Tucson, AZ $5
42 Pamela Perez Peoria, AZ  
43 Sandy Truman Phoenix, AZ  
44 Gregg Kern Tucson, AZ  
45 Kristen Lee Tucson, AZ  
46 Alex Holbrook Flagstaff, AZ  
47 Taylor Knight Phoenix, AZ  
Impact Challenge Winners: April Urban and Amanda Ailport
Scratch High Games:    
  Reguero 278    
  George 278    
George 269    
Sloan 266    
King 258    
Cote 258    
Handicap High Games:    
C. Taylor 278    
Kalaf 259    
Shoup 257    
D. Taylor 251    
Tafoya 232    
Round Leaders (5 pts. Each)    
Scratch Handicap  
1 Davis D. Stewart  
2 Cote Ben Meils  
3 George Ben Meils  
4 George Ben Meils  
5 George Stever  
High Female:    
Davis 1053    
Urban 970    
Tiff King 918    
Reguero 905    
Dutton 900