champs Matt Cormack & Brian Castelloe

Two bowlers captured their first JBT titles in exciting Southern California Conference action at Fantasy Lanes, on the first day of the first 'doubleheader' in So Cal history.

A high scoring field saw 13 year-old James Hawkins open the day with a perfect 300 game, continuing his hot run of late.  Josh Blanchard nearly matched it, starting with 299, and Matt Cormack also had the front nine in game one, but Hawkins wasn't done yet, starting with the front NINETEEN strikes before finally missing, en route to the handicap division's top seed.

The handicap division stepladder finals opened with Ricky Clabaugh falling to good friend Tyler Boscarino 219-205.  Boscarino then fell to Brian Castelloe 240-235, and Brian backed that up with a 225-202 victory over Mike May to reach the title match.

Hawkins was +178 after qualifying, but began to slow down in the semis, "only" picking up 60 more pins the rest of the way.  That was a sign of things to come though, as both he and Castelloe struggled in the title match.  Despite James' furious comeback in the late frames, Brian did enough for a 183-169 win, godo for the first title of his JBT career.

Matthew Jones rolled a 182 in the first round of the scratch finals, but had to unpack his bags when Chris Weyrauch opened in the tenth for 179, allowing Jones to advance.  The unconventional two-hander then got past Josh Blanchard 204-190, before falling to Ken McElvaney 228-191 to set up the final match.

Top qualifier Cormack blew away the field, as his +480 8-game total was the 4th best total in JBT history.  Of course, in the stepladder format you have to 'win the tournament twice', and in the finals Matt did just that, doubling in the tenth frame for a 228-217 win over the tough McElvaney, also good for his first career JBT title.  The win plus a good bracket haul plus the $100 bonus for throwing Ebonite's new Total NV ball brought his one-day earnings over $500!

Big thanks to Doug Schmidt and everyone at Fantasy for a terrific job hosting our event for the first time.  Over $2,000 in scholarships were awarded.  Want in on the fun?  Come on out to the next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Fantasy Lanes (Sat.)- final results and optional scholarship winners  
So Cal Conference      
Scratch Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Matt Cormack Woodland Hills, CA p 454 $515
2 Ken McElvaney Chatsworth, CA p 284 $100
3 Matthew Jones Canoga Park, CA p 233 $85
4 Josh Blanchard Fresno, CA p 257 $160
5 Chris Weyrauch Chandler, AZ p 232 $40
6 Shane Peck Riverside, CA p 225 $63
7 Christian Jensen Anthem, AZ p 181 $6
8 JR Monteith Orange, CA p 150  
9 Anthony Stevenson San Diego, CA p 145  
10 Jon Huse Los Angeles, CA p 135  
11 Cameron Smith Santee, CA p 113 $81
12 Devin Bidwell Simi Valley, CA p 104 $5
13 Josh Wilson Fallbrook, CA p 65 $15
14 Brian Ballard San Diego, CA p 58 $15
15 Forrest Holland Escondido, CA p 26 $60
16 Eric Rubin Phoenix, AZ m 43  
17 Justin Foster Los Angeles, CA p 43  
18 Will Jackson Gardena, CA p 36  
19 Allie Ijams Mission Viejo, CA p 33  
20 Preston Fukumizu Los Angeles, CA p 32  
21 BJ Baker Tempe, AZ p 24 $10
22 Kris George Glendale, AZ p 7  
23 Nick Powanda San Diego, CA m 7  
24 Lana Lycan San Diego, CA m 13  
25 Foster Phandanouvong San Diego, CA m 24  
26 Jeff Mathews Las Vegas, NV m 41  
27 Shane Lien San Diego, CA m 52  
28 AJ Garcia Los Angeles, CA m 62  
29 Richard Brown RSM, CA m 69  
30 Felicia Mara Rancho Cucamonga, CA m 88  
Handicap Division      
rank name city, state score prize
1 Brian Castelloe Carlsbad, CA p 191 $245
2 James Hawkins Anaheim, CA p 232 $135
3 Mike May San Diego, CA p 217 $150
4 Tyler Boscarino Alpine, CA p 184 $60
5 Ricky Clabaugh San Diego, CA p 171 $40
6 Chris Valenzuela Los Angeles, CA p 167 $60
7 Shalynne Schmid Indio, CA p 162 $20
8 Bethany Baker Tempe, AZ p 143 $44
9 Kevin Kocis Los Angeles, CA p 138 $45
10 Robert Page Los Angeles, CA p 134 $15
11 Alyssa Tucker Cathedral City, CA p 125  
12 Justin Basom San Diego, CA p 112  
13 Kaitlin Mayall Chula Vista, CA p 103  
14 Anthony Cruz San Diego, CA p 74  
15 Brittany Page Los Angeles, CA p 68  
16 Aaron Torres Los Angeles, CA p 65  
17 Brittany Kolatzny San Diego, CA p 56  
18 Kyle Long La Quinta, Ca p 48 $8
19 Brenden Lou San Diego, CA p 45  
20 Andrew Castaneda Indio, CA p 35  
21 Joshua Shoup Tolleson, AZ m 11 $30
22 Christina Fraijo Corona, CA m 16  
23 Karlie Loop   p 51  
24 Christian Granados Indio, CA p 44  
25 Christopher Tucker Cathedral City, CA p 37  
26 David Fritz San Diego, CA p 34  
27 Michael Granados Indio, CA p 33  
28 Jeff Ingram San Diego, CA p 29  
29 Shayne Huntley Mission Hills, CA p 22 $22
30 David Clabaugh San Diego, CA p 17  
31 Troy Lien San Diego, CA p 5  
32 Brandon Mullikin Torrance, CA m 4  
33 Billy Stafford Mission Hills, CA m 8 $10
34 Samantha Meyers Mission Hills, CA m 8  
35 Rudy Powell San Bernardino, CA m 8  
36 Wesley Low Palmdale, CA m 8  
37 Kyle De Cew Riverside, CA m 14  
38 Jaymes Conn El Cajon, CA m 26  
39 Garrett Yack Indio, CA m 32  
40 Martika Cabezas Cathedral City, CA m 45  
41 Allen Schmidt Indio, CA m 66  
42 Kaylee Riddle Indio, CA m 85  
43 Drew Stern Northridge, CA m 96  
44 Cameron Peck Riverside, CA m 109  
45 Steven Spencer Indio, CA m 125  
 Ball Winner: Kyle DeCew