2008 JBT Main Event Girls Scratch Singles

champ Suzana Signaigo and runner-up Maggie Zakrzewski

   Suzana Signaigo, Kapolei HI, captured a $1,500 first place scholarship as champion of the 2008 JBT Las Vegas Main Event Girls Scratch Singles event.

   In round one of our unique bracket-stepladder finals, #8 Jordeen Koizumi defeated #6 Caycee Landers 196-167, while in simultaneous action, defending champ and #5 seed Samantha Hesley outlasted #7 Deanna Carrillo 181-165. 

  In the second round, Koizumi rolled on, beating #4 Catherine Rawsthorne 182-168, while Signaigo ended Hesley's run 188-164. The top two seeds entered the fray in round three, and in those matches, top seed Maggie Zakrzewski stopped Koizumi 225-169, while Signaigo upset #2 Amanda Falk 201-167, setting up the championship match.

   The most challenging condition in Main Event history was laid out this year, and the good friends and teammates on Wichita State's dominant female college bowling program both struggled a bit early on.  However, it was Signaigo who was able to right the ship first, and she pulled away for a 204-181 win and the Main Event championship.

   Big thanks to Jerry Francomano and the whole team at Texas Station for an amazing job hosting the best open-field national tournament in junior bowling.   Thanks also to all our sponsors, including our title sponsor Ebonite, for making Main Event happen.  Over $50,000 in scholarships were awarded to the field- want in on all this fun? Come on out to the 2009 Main Event, it's as simple as that!

Rank Last First City State Prize
1 Signaigo Suzanna Kapolei HI $1,500
2 Zakrzewski Maggie Palatine IL $1,000
3 Falk Amanda Tuscon AZ  
4 Koizumi Jordeen Wiapaho HI $750
5 Rawsthorne Catherine Federal Way WA $600
6 Hesley Samantha Wellington FL $500
7 Landers Caycee Mission Hills  CA $400
8 Carrillo Deanna Montebello CA $350
9 Fry Amanda Antelope CA $350
10 Hanken Lori Oregon City OR $250
11 Urban April Henderson NV


12 Davis Rachelle Tucson AZ  
13 Bell Joi Pflugerville TX  
14 Page Brittany Los Angeles CA  
15 Ijams Allie Flagstaff AZ  
16 Schilling Danielle Ventura CA  
17 Mickleson Kristi Bellvue NE  
18 Gill Christine Lakewood CO  
19 McGinnes Alyse LaCrescenta CA  
20 Katz Alex Las Vegas NV  
21 Sorensen Kirsten Newark CA  
22 Rubin Ashley Brandon SD  
23 Ferry Jaime Garden Grove CA  
24 Lycan Lana Santee  CA  
25 Scroggs-Barber Brittani Pikeville KY  
26 Hannasch Lindsay Saugus CA  
27 Todiello Andee      
28 Koff Ana Miami FL  
29 Dutton Courtney Chandler AZ  
30 Fraijo Christina Covina CA  
31 King Tiffany Surprise AZ  
32 Jenner Kirsten Layton UT  
33 Jimenez Natalie Rowland Heights CA  
34 Cabezas Martika Palm Springs CA  
35 Pena Melissa West Covina CA  
36 Reguero Rebeca Glendale AZ  
37 Vadnais Amanda Prescott AZ  
38 Mayall Kaitlin Chula Vista CA  
39 Shelton Wendy Albuquerque M  
40 Mero Chelsey Lincoln NE  
41 Baschal Robin Palmer Lake CO  
42 Shiira Shelly Honolulu HI  
43 Uyehara Sky Aiea HI  
44 Shepard Nicole Santa Barbara CA  
45 Tadiello Audree Brentwood CA  
46 Reynolds Marianda West Valley City UT  
47 Monteith Susy Orange CA  
48 Miyaji Sharyn Honolulu HI  
49 Stephens Taneka Mililani HI  
50 Takara Kayla Honolulu HI  
51 Uyehara Shawnna Aiea HI  
52 Nakano Kristyn Kapolei HI