Below is a press-release style article that you have permission to copy and use for any sort of media outlet you wish.  We do ask that you send us a copy of any published articles for our scrapbook though!






Scratch champ Brad Miller & runner-up Nathan Panaligan; Handicap champ Brenden Lou & runner-up Blake Teragawa; Girls Scratch champ Suzana Signaigo & runner-up Maggie Zakrzewski

     Brad Miller, Raytown MO, Brenden Lou, El Cajon CA, and Suzana Signaigo, Kapolei HI, captured singles titles in the 2008 JBT Las Vegas Main Event, presented by Ebonite International and hosted by Texas Star Lanes at Texas Station Hotel and Casino.

    Miller snuck into the #15 seed for the unique bracket-stepladder finals, and won five matches against extraordinary competition to earn the victory.  Along the way, he beat Junior Gold champ Adam Martinez, and famous names in junior bowling like Jake Peters and Andrew Koff, just to name a few.  In the title match, he defeated #4 seed and 2004 Main Event champion Nathan Panaligan 225-209, good for a $5,000 first place scholarship.  Top qualifier Josh McBride (the all-events champion) finished third, Koff was fourth (his lowest Main Event finish ever!), and Peters rounded out the top five.

    Lou, the #2 seed, and Blake Teragawa, the top seed, had been trading the lead throughout the tournament, so it was fitting they won their semifinal matches to meet up for the title.  After both opened in the 9th frame, Lou threw a clutch double in the 10th to force Blake to do the same.  Teragawa couldn't get the hits, and Brenden cashed in for a $2,000 first place scholarship as Main Event champ.  Jurene Morales was the high female finisher in 3rd, Gregg Kern finished 4th, and Dillon Bridge rounded out the top five in a field of 170 bowlers.

   The Girls Scratch division showcased how much the college bowling program helps out female bowling, as 6 of the 8 finalists bowl for major college programs.  #3 seed Signaigo, a Wichita State bowler, beat CMSU star and #2 seed Amanda Flak in one semifinal, while fellow Shocker and top seed Maggie Zakrzewski beat #8 and ASU bowler Jordeen Koizumi in the other semi.

   Maggie and Suzana put on a great display of both talent and sportsmanship in the title match.  While both worked hard to adapt to the challenging conditions, it was Signaigo who figured it out first and best, and she won the match 204-181 for the $1,500 first place scholarship prize.

   In the scratch doubles event, Travis Zehntner and Deanna Carillo rolled 1450 combined to split the $1,000 first place scholarship, while Gregg Kern and Delano Coveris blasted 1502 to win the handicap doubles title's $1,000 prize.  Carrillo thus becomes the first female to win an open division Main Event title!

   A team event was held for the first time and was a sold-out success.  Jeremy Glover, Matt Jones, Matt Ezrol,and Clarence White captured the scratch competition, while Jamie Ferry, Eric Torrence, Jerome Jordan, and Cory Koyanagi earned the handicap title. 

   In total, over $50,000 in scholarships were awarded to the field of bowlers from all ages, averages, and 27 states and Canada.  Complete results are at the JBT's website,  The Main Event returns to Texas Station in 2009, and the JBT runs events nearly every weekend all season long.  See you soon!

Rank Last First City State Prize
1 Miller Brad Raytown MO $5,000
2 Panaligan Nathan N Las Vegas NV $3,000
3 McBride Josh Wichita KS $2,000
4 Koff Andrew Miami FL $1,500
5 Peters Jake Decatur IL $1,000
6 Smith Cameron Santee CA $750
7 Allred Brandon Las Vegas NV $600
8 Pelow JD Westminster CA $500
9 Bowers Brent Mulvane  KS $450
10 Hair Charlie Laguna Woods CA $400
11 Schacht Eric St Paul MN $400
12 Pahr Nick Eden Praire MN $400
13 Martinez Adam San Antonio TX $400
14 Fritsch Chris Sacramento CA $400
15 Weier Cameron Federal Way WA $400
16 Sipich Jon Des Plaines IL $400


Rank Last First City State


1 Lou Brenden El Cajon CA $2,000
2 Teragawa Blake San Francisco CA $1,500
3 Morales Jurene San Francisco CA $1,000
4 Kern Greg Tuscon AZ $900
5 Bridge Dillon El Paso TX $800
6 Bristow Aaron Farmington NM $700
7 Unger Michael Trabuco Canyon CA $600
8 Carper Janeyl Rio Rancho NM $500
9 Hernandez Andre Chula Vista CA $400
10 Yoshi Adam San Francisco CA $350
11 Lim Mike San Francisco CA $300
12 Tam Alex San Francisco CA $250
13 Sakurai Justin San Francisco CA $200
14 Hansen Brad Huntington Beach CA $150
15 Fox Robert Bakersfield CA $130
16 Goad Jeff Phoenix AZ $120


Rank Last First City State Prize
1 Signaigo Suzanna Kapolei HI $1,500
2 Zakrzewski Maggie Palatine IL $1,000
3 Falk Amanda Tuscon AZ  
4 Koizumi Jordeen Wiapaho HI $750
5 Rawsthorne Catherine Federal Way WA $600
6 Hesley Samantha Wellington FL $500
7 Landers Caycee Mission Hills  CA $400
8 Carrillo Deanna Montebello CA $350